Skip to main content

BIOL 102 - Introductory Biology of Cells

Connect from Off-Campus

Off-campus access to most Library databases and e-journals is restricted to current Queen's students, faculty and staff and is available by logging in through the webproxy service.

Your Library Account

Each student automatically has a library account. Sign into your account to view your patron record, renew borrowed books, and place book requests. Your library account contains your personal information, as well as information about items you've borrowed or fines you have. Use your netID and password to log into your account.

Getting Help

Help is available from the Engineering & Science Library:

  • Email: engsci@queensu.ca.  
  • Phone: 613-533-2610 or 1-866-267-7407
  • In person: Check at either the information services desk on the ground floor, or the help desk on the first floor (Douglas Library)

Help is also available via the library's Ask Us email service - your questions will be referred to the appropriate person.

The Biology Liaison Librarian is Morag Coyne.  

Introduction

CalendulaWelcome to the library guide for BIOL 102. 
 
This guide is designed to help you research information for your lab reports this semester.  It also provides some of the background material you will need to complete the moodle library quiz for BIOL 102.

 

Some material found in Finding Sources was adapted from the Academic Information Literacy - Health Sciences guide.

Photo: Morag Coyne (do not reproduce without permission)

Library Basics

Libraries on CampusCampus Map 

The libraries with materials most relevant to BIOL 102 are:

  • The Engineering & Science Library (Douglas building, corner of University and Union). Holds books, journals, reports and standards from the science and engineering disciplines.
  • Bracken Health Sciences Library (Botterell Hall, main level). Contains materials pertaining to medicine, nursing, rehabilitative therapies and human biology.
  • Stauffer Library. Contains the humanities, social sciences, and art collections. It also contains maps, government documents and reports, and some environmental science materials.

Note that each library's website includes interactive floorplans.

Borrowing Books and Course Reserves

Library material can be signed out at the circulation/reserve desk in each library. Your student card is your library card. Loan periods for undergraduates are:

  • Books – 2 weeks
  • Course reserve readings – 1 hour, 3 hours, 1 day or 3 days (depending on item)
  • Journals and reference books cannot be signed out.

Copying/Scanning/Printing

Self-serve printing, scanning and copying are available at each library.  To use the library's computers (or your own laptop on the library network), you need to login with you netID.

Rates and instructions:  Print  I  Scan  I  Copy

Group Study Rooms and Online Booking

  • There are group study rooms available in the Engineering & Science and Stauffer libraries.
  • Rooms can be reserved by 2 or more students for the purpose of studying or discussion.
  • Group Study Rooms are available to all members of the Queen's community with an active NetID
  • All rooms are bookable in 30 minute time slots
  • Up to 4 consecutive timeslots (2 hours) can be requested in a single booking
  • Up to 12 timeslots (6 hours) can be requested in a single week
  • Up to 100 timeslots (50 hours) can be requested in a single calendar year
  • Rooms are available for advance booking up to 8 weeks
  • Bookings can be made at any time, including during an active timeslot

Book a study room