Skip to main content

GNDS 125: Gender, Race and Popular Culture

Online library research guide

Finding Books

Use the Queen's Library Catalogue (QCAT) to find the locations and call numbers of books (as well as videos, audio, microform, map, serial, and rare titles) at Queen's Library.

QCAT also contains the records and links to many e-books. To limit your search to e-books in QCAT, choose E-Books from the drop-down menu.

E-Book Collections

Queen's Library purchases a large number of electronic books.  These books are found in Summon or QCAT, just as print books are, but you can also browse collections of electronic books by platform provider.

Many individual electronic books are available within e-book collections. Most collections have individual book records in QCAT, but some do not.

E-Book Collections useful for Gender Studies include:

ebrary
Ebook collection from Canadian and international academic publishers.

e-Duke Books Scholarly Collection
An excellent collection of academic books from Duke University Press.

Scholars Portal Books
Fulltext available from commercial publishers (such as Springer, Oxford University Press, Cambridge University Press, and Elsevier), Canadian publishers, government and non-governmental organizations.

QCAT Library Catalogue

Search QCAT, the library catalogue, below or from the Library Homepage. If you want to combine your keywords with more than AND, choose Boolean keyword from the drop down menu (the default is keyword). Once you have performed your search, you can limit your search results to E-books if you wish.


Summon

Summon is the library's search engine that provides results from the library’s online and print collections in a single search. It contains everything found in the traditional QCAT Library Catalogue, plus millions of full-text articles available from the Library.

Once you have executed a search, use the "facets" located along the left hand side of the results screen to refine your search results to electronic books or peer-reviewed articles from scholarly journals.