Skip to main content

Art Conservation

Key Art Conservation Indexes & Databases

AATA Online (The Getty)

 

BCIN (Conservation Information Network, hosted by Canadian Heritage Information Network).

 

Databases relevant to the heritage of material culture or science of art conservation

History of Canada, U.S., Latin America from pre-historic times to the present, covering journals, books and dissertations on history, culture, government and political science, ethnic studies, folklore, international relations and current affairs.
 
Covers over 100 international journals, equipment manufacturers' application notes, standards and books.
 
For 1907-1984 coverage see: Art Index Retrospective
Index to scholarly journal articles on art and related disciplines (anthropology, architecture, design, video art, etc.). Emphasis is on Western art. Can be searched simultaneously with Art Index Retrospective.
 
Index to scholarly art journals and other materials published prior to 1985. Can be searched simultaneously with Art Abstracts.
 
Indexes writing and research on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
 
Comprehensive index to articles on architecture and design published in scholarly and popular-press American and international journals.
 
Comprehensive index to European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Abstracts books, articles, conference proceedings, essays, dissertations, exhibition and dealers’ catalogues. Covers painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, architecture, crafts, decorative, applied, graphic, folk and popular arts.
 
CBCA (Canadian Business & Current Affairs)
Includes selective full text titles, covering current events, the arts, indigenous and Canadian studies, business, science, and academic information produced in Canada.
 
Access to several primary source collections of digitized materials from disparate parts of the world.
 
Full text in PDF format for most of the dissertations and theses added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.
 
Comprehensive index for historical studies worldwide EXCLUDING the United States and Canada.
 
IBA succeeds the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). Abstracts 500+ core journals, monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues. Covers European art since late antiquity; American art since the colonial period; global art since 1945; fine art in all media; decorative arts and antiques; museum studies and conservation; archaeology and material culture; folk art; architectural history.
 
 
A bibliography of books, journal material, dissertation abstracts and essays in books (including conference proceedings, Festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues) for the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
 
Journal Storage, the Scholarly Journal Archive full-text access to the entire "backrun" of many core academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, business, and law. There is a moving wall of 2-5 years before the current volume.
 
Search Chemical Abstracts, Medline, the Registry File, and CAS React
 
Multidisciplinary database providing access to bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references from scholarly journals and conference proceedings. A cited reference search enables you to find articles that cite a previously published work.

Conservation Tools

A comprehensive database of 100,000 abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage. (formerly Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts).
 
Nearly 200,000 citations to technical reports, conference proceedings, journal articles, books and audiovisual and unpublished materials. Database includes previously unavailable material from private sources, as well as new information gathered by a worldwide network of contributors.

Art Image Tools

Artstor (digital image library for educational and scholarly uses. To use ARTstor to its full advantage (both on or off campus), you must first become a "registered user")
 
Oxford Art Online (includes Grove Art – limit 8 users)