Skip to main content

Art History

Art History

Agnes Etherington Art Centre

Image: Pieter van Mol (attributed to), "Susanna and the Elders," 1640s, oil on panel. Gift of Alfred and Isabel Bader, 2014. Photo: Bernard Clark

Art Image Databases @Queen's

Artstor (digital image library for educational and scholarly uses. To use ARTstor to its full advantage (both on or off campus), you must first become a "registered user")

FADIS (Federated Academic Digital Imaging System: U. of T.'s shared image repository – User name: QLibrary ; Password: QLib11) 
 

Formerly known as Index of Christian Art. Important archive of medieval iconography, from Princeton University. 

Oxford Art Online (includes Grove Art – limit 8 users)

Image Collections

Architecture in the Classical Tradition (ACT)

Created by Pierre du Prey, Professor Emeritus, Queen's University, reflecting over forty years of teaching, photographing, studying, writing about, and helping to preserve our built environment. Contains image database, glossary, and chronological, thematic and theoretical paths.

British Library: Images Online

The Picture Library of the British Library holds over 150 million items including the King's Library, manuscripts, rare books, musical texts, maps, illustrations, drawings, paintings and photographs spanning almost 3000 years

British Library: Online Gallery

30,000 items from the British Library Collection, including Online Exhibitions

Digital Archive of American Architecture

Search principally by architect, building type, century (Prof. Jeffery Howe, Boston College)

Digital Imaging Project

Art historical images of sculpture and architecture from pre-historic to post-modern (Prof. Mary Ann Sullivan, Bluffton University).

Folger Shakespeare Library: Digital Image Collection

High resolution images from books, theater memorabilia, manuscripts, and art to re-use for any purpose provided credit is given to the Folger Shakespeare Library as the source. Direct link to database catalog

Frick Digital Image Archive

The Frick Collection's digital image archive

Google Art Project

Google's collaboration with over 250 art institutions to enable the discovery and viewing of tens of thousands of artworks from more than 6,000 artists in high resolution images online

The Great Buildings Collection

Architecture reference site to a thousand buildings, with 3D models, photographic images, architectural drawings, commentaries, bibliographies, timelines and web links. Search by name of building, architect or place.

GRI Digital Collections

The Getty Research Institute Digital Collections

Images Canada

Archived Government of Canada web page. Search the image collections of participating archives, libraries, museums and universities from across Canada.

Library of Congress: Digital Collections

Library of Congress's gateway to primary source materials in over 100 historical collections relating to the history and culture of the United States.

Mapping Gothic France

Project of Dr. Stephen Murray, Art History and Archaeology, Columbia University and Dr. Andrew Tallon, Art, Vassar College, funded by Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. A 3-D database of images, texts, charts and historical maps, to explore Gothic architecture and the formation of France in the 12th and 13th centuries.

McCord Museum Collections Online

Artefacts online held by the McCord Museum in Montreal and by the partner museums, including 450,000 images online from the McCord's Notman Photographic Archives.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art: The Collection Online

Over 400,000 high-resolution digital images of public domain works in the Museum’s collection may be downloaded for non-commercial use.

National Gallery of Art: The Collection

Search the entire National Gallery of Art collection by artist's last name, key words in the title, key words in object information, credit line, provenance name, accession number, exhibition history, and/or catalogue raisonné.

V&A Collections

1,146,388 objects and 416,583 images from the V&A's collections

Virtual Museum of Canada

Virtual exhibits, teaching resources, and innovative projects from Canadian museum collections, with images containing detailed information on the contributing museum and copyright information.

Visual Collections - images of art, history and culture

More than 300,000 images in cartography, fine arts, architecture and photography from over fifty renowned collections

The Walters Art Museum: Online Collection

High-resolution archival images from the collection of the Walters Art Museum in Baltimore, Maryland, along with detailed catalog descriptions

Web Gallery of Art

Digital reproductions of European paintings and sculptures created between the years 1100 and 1850

Art around Queen's

Masters of Art Conservation students work to prepare a mural by Kenneth Hensley Holmden (1893-1963) for removal from 16 Bath Rd.

Photo credit:  Rosie Hales, Queen's Gazette, April 9, 2015

Photo credit: Bernard Clark, Queen's Gazette, April 28, 2016

Rare Books and Special Collections

Photo credit: Lucinda Walls. St. George and the Dragon Banner, 2013, W.D. Jordan Special Collections and Music Library, now W.D. Jordan Rare Books (Douglas Library).