Skip to main content

Art History

Iconography

Formerly known as Index of Christian Art. Important archive of medieval iconography, from Princeton University.

Attributs et symboles dans l'art profane, 1450-1600.
N7740.T4. 1958, 1964 suppl. (Art Collection & SL Reference)

Barockthemen. (Pigler).
N6410.P5. 1956. 2 vols.(Art Collection)

Dictionary of subjects and symbols in art. (Hall)
N7560 .H34 2008. 2nd ed. (Art Collection non-circulating)

Encyclopedia of themes and subjects in painting. (Daniel)
ND1288 .D3. 1971 (SL Reference)

Iconographie de l'art chretien. (Reau)
N7830 .R37 1955-59. 3 vols. (Art Collection)

Iconography of Christian art. (Schiller) 1971-72. vols. 1-2, English translation of Ikonographie der christlichen Kunst.
N7830 .S35I32 (Art Collection non-circulating)

Well illustrated. Search for vols. 3-5 under German title above or call number N7830 .S35 (Art Collection)

Lexikon der christlichen Ikonographie.
BV150.L4 1968-76. 8 vols.(SL Reference)

Signs and symbols in Christian art. (Ferguson)
N7830.F3 (1959 ed. in Art Collection & SL Reference; 1961 ed. in SL Reference)

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

The Grove encyclopedia of medieval art and architecture / editor in chief, Colum P. Hourihane.

Scholarly articles on Medieval art, each followed by a bibliography .

Oxford Art Online

Known as Grove Art Online, formerly in print as The Dictionary of Art (N31 .D5 1996t, 33 vols. Stauffer Library - Compact Shelving), now incorporated and updated in Oxford Art Online.

Oxford Reference Online - Art and Architecture

Art and architecture component of more than 120 full-text Oxford University Press dictionaries, companions, and subject reference books. Browse or search for keywords within a subject area or within a specific book.

Allgemeines Ku╠łnst[l]erlexikon. Bio-bibliographischer Index A-Z = The artists of the world. Bio-bibliographical index A-Z
N40 .A629 2007 v. 1-12 (Art Collection-non circulating)

Biographies and bibliographies of artists worldwide, from antiquity to today.

Biographical index of artists in Canada (McMann)
N6548 .M29 2003 (SL Reference Collection; also electronically via QCAT)

A Biographical index of daguerreotypists in Canada 1839-1871

A concise background sketch of individuals associated with the first photographic processes in British North America, or Canada, between 1839-1871.

Bryan's dictionary of painters and engravers
N40 .B9 1964 (Art Collection non-circulating)

The standard universal English dictionary of artists.

CAMEO, Conservation and Art Material Encyclopedia Online

Database of more than 10,000 contemporary and historical materials searchable by chemical name, synonym, registry number and keyword.

Contemporary artists (Naylor)
N6490 .C6567 1989 (SL Reference Collection; 1977 ed. in Art Collection)

Single volume source on approximately 1700 artists; lists of works; some illustrations.

Contemporary Canadian artists Canadian resource
N6548 .M65 1997t (Art Collection)

Contemporary women artists (Hillstrom)
N8354 .C66 1999 (SL Reference Collection)

Dictionary of Canadian artists (Macdonald) Canadian resource
N6548 .M172. 7 vols. A to F of 5th ed., 1997, no more published. Published 1967-1990. (Art Collection)

Historical and contemporary.

Dictionary of women artists (Gaze)
N8354 .D53 1997 2 vols. (SL Reference Collection)

Dictionary of women artists : an international dictionary of women artists born before 1900 (Petteys)
N43 P47 1985 (Art Collection non-circulating)

Dictionary of women in religious art (Apostolos-Cappadona)
N7793 .W65 A66 1998 (SL Reference Collection)

Dictionnaire critique et documentaire des peintres, sculpteurs, dessinateurs et graveurs de tous les temps et de tous les pays (Benezit)
N40 .B47 1999 14 vols. (Art Collection non-circulating)

After Thieme-Becker, the most useful dictionary of artists.

Early painters and engravers in Canada (J. Russell Harper)
N6548 .H3 (Art Collection, SL Reference, LP Collection)

Encyclopedia of world art
N31.E567. Published 1958-78. 17 vols. (Art Collection)

International, ancient to modern. Survey articles and bibliographies, scholarly. Many illustrative plates.

First Nations artists in Canada
E98 .A7 A16t 2001 (SL Reference)

Grove encyclopedia of medieval art and architecture

All aspects of art and architecture from Medieval Western Europe, from the 6th century to the early 16th century.

International dictionary of art and artists
N31 .I57. 2 vols. 1990 (Art Collection non-circulating)

This work covers the 13th-20th centuries.

Kindlers Malerei Lexicon
ND30 .K54 6 vols. (Art Collection)

Brief biographies of painters; comprehensive; many coloured illustrations.

The new A to Z of Canadian art (B. McKendry) Canadian resource
N6540 .M155 2001 (Art Collection non-circulating)

North American women artists of the twentieth century : a biographical dictionary (Heller)
N6503 .N67 1995 (SL Reference Collection)

Thieme-Becker Kunstlerlexikon
N40 .T43. Published 1907-50. 37 vols. (Art Collection)

Full title is: Allgemeines Lexikon der bildenden Kunstler...by U. Thieme and F. Becker. International, ancient to modern times. Brief biographies, scholarly, comprehensive, especially good for obscure artists. Lists of artists' works with dates. No illustrations. Supplemented by:

Allgemeines Lexikon der bildenden Kuenstler des xx. Jahrhunderts (Hans Vollmer)
N40 .V92 1953-62. 6 vols.(Art Collection)

Continues coverage of artists in 20th century.

Le vite de' piu eccellenti pittori, scultori ed architettori ...(Vasari)
N6922 .V3. Several editions; multi-volumes. (Art Collection)

Originally published ca. 1550 and 1568. Includes biographies of Italian Renaissance artists. Italian; English translations.

Essential Reference

Artstor (digital image library for educational and scholarly uses. To use ARTstor to its full advantage (both on or off campus), you must first become a "registered user")

Oxford Art Online

A comprehensive encyclopaedia for the history of the visual arts, including bio-bibliographical information and images.