Skip to main content

Art History

Selected Art Websites

Here are some selected websites of interest for Art History, and links to major institutions such as art libraries, galleries or museums.

Canadian Art

The AANDC site provides links to its AANDC Art Gallery and the Artist Directory of First Nation, Métis, and Inuit artists.
 
ACI, founded in 2012 at Massey College, University of Toronto, is a non-profit research organization that promotes the study of Canadian art history largely through commissioning a digital library of books on Canadian artists written by the country's leading art experts and published freely in the Canadian Online Art Book Project.
 
ArtistsInCanada.com site dedicated to raising the profile of the visual arts in Canada by maintaining a national directory of internet links to artists, art galleries and art resources by province and city
 
Aims to increase public awareness of the role of architecture in contemporary society and promote scholarly research in the field.
 
Search the CCCA Canadian Art database, housed at Concordia University. Includes First Nations and Inuit artists.
 
An introduction to contemporary native artists in Canada.
 
An introduction to contemporary native artists in Canada.

Special Interest

Bosch Project

A collaborative effort of the Bosch Research and Conservation Project (BRCP) with participating museums, scholars and scientists to study and document the works of Jheronimus Bosch.

Europeana Collections

Explore 53,632,009 artworks, artefacts, books, videos and sounds from across Europe. Co-financed by the European Union.

Medici Archive Project

Archive of the Medici Grand Dukes of Tuscany (1537-1743), housed in the Archivio di Stato in Florence, Italy and online database to the historical data in the Medici Granducal Archive

Nineteenth-Century Art Worldwide

Refereed e-journal of nineteenth century visual culture: painting, sculpture, graphic arts, photography, architecture, and decorative arts

On-Line Picasso Project

Project of Dr. Enrique Mallen, professor at Sam Houston State University. Login access may be granted upon request on an individual basis. See Terms of Use.

Rossetti Archive

A hypermedia archive for the scholarly study of the complete writings and pictures of Dante Gabriel Rossetti. Peer-reviewed by NINES (Networked Infrastructure for Nineteenth-century Electronic Scholarship) Consortium.

The Victorian Web : Literature, history and culture in the age of Victoria

Webmastered by George P. Landow, Professor of English and the History of Art, Emeritus, Brown University. Includes links to The Arts in Victorian Britain

The Vincent van Gogh Gallery

Website by David Brooks, endorsed by the Van Gogh Museum, Amsterdam

William Morris Society Web Site

Site devoted to William Morris (1834-96), British craftsman, designer, writer, typographer, and Socialist. Includes link to the William Morris Society of Canada.