Skip to main content

ARTH 305: Landscape/Environment in Art and Visual Culture

Citation Searching

Search an article index or subject-related database such as ARTBibliographies Modern or Art Abstracts for citations or full-text of journal articles or book chapters on your topic.
If the full text is not readily available as a PDF, click on Get It Link Icon.

Nota bene: If the "Get It" link does not find anything, don't assume that the Library does not hold the item.  A search in QCAT for the source title of the journal (or book) might find it.

If you can't find the article or book you need at Queen's either in print or electronically, try RACER, our interlibrary loan service.

Evaluating Journal Articles

Journal articles are important as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.

Articles in scholarly journals are peer-reviewed—that is to say, they have gone through an anonymous formal vetting and editing process—whereas articles in magazines or newspapers are accepted at the discretion of a single editor.

Consult our guide Distinguishing Scholarly Journals from Other Periodicals, to help evaluate and decide which journal articles will be useful for your essay.

Key Journals

Many good articles will be found in art or other interdisciplinary journals. Below are some examples of art or geography/landscape/environmental journals.

Check QCAT under Journal Title Exact to see if the journal is in print or electronic format at Queen's:

Afterimage
American art
Art bulletin
Art history
Art news
Border crossings
Canadian art
Canadian geographic
Cultural geographies
Environment and history
Environmental communication
Environmental history
History of photography
Journal of historical geography
Landscape ecology
Photography & culture

Article Indexes and Databases

For 1907-1984 coverage see: Art Index Retrospective
Index to scholarly journal articles on art and related disciplines (anthropology, architecture, design, video art, etc.). Emphasis is on Western art. Can be searched simultaneously with Art Index Retrospective.
 
Index to scholarly art journals and other materials published prior to 1985. Can be searched simultaneously with Art Abstracts.
 
Indexes writing and research on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
 
Comprehensive index to articles on architecture and design published in scholarly and popular-press American and international journals.
 
Comprehensive index to European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Abstracts books, articles, conference proceedings, essays, dissertations, exhibition catalogues.
 
IBA succeeds the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). Covers European art since late antiquity; American art since the colonial period; global art since 1945; fine art in all media; decorative arts and antiques; museum studies and conservation; archaeology and material culture; folk art; architectural history.
 

Interdisciplinary and Multidisciplinary Databases

Multi-disciplinary index to peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, monographs and reports, with approximately 50% of the journal titles also containing the full-text of articles

Includes coverage of native populations in Canada, U.S., Mexico

Includes selective full text titles, covering current events, the arts, indigenous and Canadian studies, business, science, and academic information produced in Canada.
 
Full text in PDF format for most of the dissertations and theses added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.
 
International coverage of articles and books about environmental issues
Interdisciplinary topics including art, as related to gender studies

Interdisciplinary database for the fields of physical and human geography, including geology, ecology, geomechanics, mineralogy, oceanography, environmental issues and Third World studies

 
Multidisciplinary database covering all aspects of human impact on the environment

Areas include anthropology, art, cultural studies, gender studies, geography, race and ethnic studies, religious studies, sociology

Journal Storage, the Scholarly Journal Archive full-text access to the entire "backrun" of many core academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, business, and law. There is a moving wall of 2-5 years before the current volume
searches IBSS, PAIS, Worldwide Political Abstracts, ProQuest Political Science simultaneously

searches Sociological Abstracts, IBSS and ProQuest Sociology simultaneously