Skip to main content

ARTH 305: Landscape/Environment in Art and Visual Culture

Image Databases @Queen's

Access these digital image sources at Queen's:

Artstor (digital image library for educational and scholarly uses. To use ARTstor to its full advantage (both on or off campus), you must first become a "registered user")
 
FADIS (U. of T.'s shared image repository – Username: QLibrary ; Password QLib11)
 
Index of Christian Art Princeton's database archive of medieval art images
 
Oxford Art Online (includes Grove Art – limit 8 users)

Landscape through time

Peter Paul Rubens and Jan Brueghel the elder. Portrait of Archduke Albert, (before 1621), oil on canvas, 112 x 173 cm, Image courtesy of SCALA, Florence/ART Resource, N.Y. ARTstor

 

Joseph Mallord William Turner. Bonneville, Savoy, with Mont Blanc, 1803, oil on canvas, 92.07 x 123.19 cm. Image courtesy Dallas Museum of Art. ARTstor

Edward Burtynsky. Dam #2, Three Gorges Dam Project, Yangtze River, China, 2002, digital chromogenic print, 55.9 cm x 221.0 cm, © Edward Burtynsky. Image courtesy https://www.lensculture.com/projects/276-china

Images freely available on the web

Enjoy some of these excellent freely available image websites.

Library of Congress's gateway to primary source materials in over 100 historical collections relating to the history and culture of the United States.

Architecture in the Classical Tradition (ACT)

Created by Pierre du Prey, Professor Emeritus, Queen's University, reflecting over forty years of teaching, photographing, studying, writing about, and helping to preserve our built environment. Contains image database, glossary, and chronological, thematic and theoretical paths.

British Library: Images Online

The Picture Library of the British Library holds over 150 million items including the King's Library, manuscripts, rare books, musical texts, maps, illustrations, drawings, paintings and photographs spanning almost 3000 years

British Library: Online Gallery

30,000 items from the British Library Collection, including Online Exhibitions

Digital Archive of American Architecture

Search principally by architect, building type, century (Prof. Jeffery Howe, Boston College)

Digital Imaging Project

Art historical images of sculpture and architecture from pre-historic to post-modern (Prof. Mary Ann Sullivan, Bluffton University).

Folger Shakespeare Library: Digital Image Collection

High resolution images from books, theater memorabilia, manuscripts, and art to re-use for any purpose provided credit is given to the Folger Shakespeare Library as the source. Direct link to database catalog

Frick Digital Image Archive

The Frick Collection's digital image archive

Google Art Project

Google's collaboration with over 250 art institutions to enable the discovery and viewing of tens of thousands of artworks from more than 6,000 artists in high resolution images online

The Great Buildings Collection

Architecture reference site to a thousand buildings, with 3D models, photographic images, architectural drawings, commentaries, bibliographies, timelines and web links. Search by name of building, architect or place.

GRI Digital Collections

The Getty Research Institute Digital Collections

Images Canada

Hosted by Library and Archives Canada, Images Canada allows users to search images from participating cultural institutions from across Canada.

Mapping Gothic France

Project of Dr. Stephen Murray, Art History and Archaeology, Columbia University and Dr. Andrew Tallon, Art, Vassar College, funded by Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. A 3-D database of images, texts, charts and historical maps, to explore Gothic architecture and the formation of France in the 12th and 13th centuries.

McCord Museum Collections Online

Approximately 139,000 artefacts online (more than 122,000 held by the McCord Museum in Montreal and some 17,500 held by the partner museums), including 82,765 images online from the McCord's Notman Photographic Archives.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art: The Collection Online

Over 400,000 high-resolution digital images of public domain works in the Museum’s collection may be downloaded for non-commercial use.

NGA Images: National Gallery of Art

Repository of more than 43,000 open access digital images from the collections of the National Gallery of Art.

PhotoGraphicLibraries.com

Links to photographic libraries and archive collections worldwide related to all aspects of photography, graphics, fashion, moving images, photo and ad agencies, maps, fine art and clip art photos

V&A Collections

1,146,388 objects and 416,583 images from the V&A's collections

Virtual Museum of Canada

Virtual exhibits, teaching resources, and innovative projects from Canadian museum collections, with images containing detailed information on the contributing museum and copyright information.

Visual Collections - images of art, history and culture

More than 300,000 images in cartography, fine arts, architecture and photography from over thirty renowned collections

The Walters Art Museum: Online Collection

High-resolution archival images from the collection of the Walters Art Museum in Baltimore, Maryland, along with detailed catalog descriptions

Web Gallery of Art

Digital reproductions of European paintings and sculptures created between the years 1100 and 1850