Skip to main content

ARTH 305: Landscape/Environment in Art and Visual Culture

Essential Reference

Oxford Art Online

A comprehensive online encyclopaedia for the history of the visual arts, including bio-bibliographical information and images.

Includes Grove Art Online, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art

John Constable: The Haywain, oil on canvas, 1.302×1.854 m, 1821 (London, National Gallery); Photo credit: National Gallery, London/Art Resource, NY

More Art and Geography Reference Tools

More Art Reference Tools

More Geography Reference Tools

Library Reference Resources

Oxford Art Online

Incorporates Grove Art Online, formerly known in print as The Dictionary of Art (N31 .D5 1996t, 33 vols. Stauffer Library - Compact Shelving), The concise Oxford dictionary of art terms, Encyclopedia of aesthetics, and The Oxford companion to Western art.

Oxford Reference Online - Art and Architecture

Art and architecture component of more than 120 full-text Oxford University Press dictionaries, companions, and subject reference books. Browse or search for keywords within a subject area or within a specific book. 5-user limit

Biographical index of artists in Canada (McMann)
N6548 .M29 2003 (SL Reference Collection; also electronically via QCAT)

Contemporary Canadian artists
N6548 .M65 1997t (Art Collection)

The Dictionary of Human Geography

The definitive guide to the concepts and debates in human geography, with surveys of key terms by leading researchers in the field.

Early painters and engravers in Canada (J. Russell Harper)
N6548 .H3 (Art Collection, SL Reference, LP Collection)

Encyclopedia of Human Geography

Human geographers have embraced a variety of newer philosophical approaches emanating from political economy and post-structuralism to engage new topics. The long-standing schism between human and physical geography has been narrowed by the emergence of perspectives such as political ecology. This Encyclopedia, on this relatively new strand of geography, considers all these new developments and helps to further establish this field.

Encyclopedia of world art
N31.E567. Published 1958-78. 17 vols.(Art Collection)

International, ancient to modern. Survey articles and bibliographies, scholarly. Many illustrative plates.

First Nations artists in Canada
E98 .A7 A16t 2001 (SL Reference)