Skip to main content

Asian Studies

Bibliographies

Consult bibliographies to find a comprehensive list of sources on a specific topic or a selective list of key works on a topic.
To find out what bibliographies the Library has, do a keyword or subject search in QCAT.
 
China--History--Bibliography [subject heading search]
cultural revolution and china and bibliography [keyword boolean search]
 
Chinese History : a Manual
REF DS735 .W695 2000
Provides basic information and how to locate sources. Provides an extensive bibliography arranged by resource type, by topic and by period (from pre-Qin to the Republic).
 
The Cultural Revolution in China : an Annotated Bibliography
Z3108 .A5 W35
365 citations to English language sources published up to 1975. Annotated and topically arranged.
 
Korean and Japanese Women: an Analytic Bibliographical Guide
Z7964 .K6 K63 1982
A selective bibliography and index of materials on Korean and Japanese women, their history, social and cultural patterns, sex roles, family and kinship patterns, and other characteristics.
 
Women in China : a Selected and Annotated Bibliography
REF Z7964 .C5 W44 1984
Contains more than 1,100 annotated entries, arranged by broad subjects. Provides cross-references at the end of each subject chapter. Bibliography of books, articles, letters and manuscript sources through about 1981.
 
Women in China : Bibliography of Available English Language Materials
REF Z7964 .C5 C47 1984
Entries arranged under topics such as education; marriage and family; psychology and religion; and sports and fashion. Includes an index of authors and an index of Chinese women. Part of a series of bibliographies and indexes in women's studies.
 
World Bibliographical Series
A series of comprehensive, annotated bibliographies where each nation has its own volume. Generally organized by broad topics such as society, fine arts, education or language, and subdivided within each larger topic. Indexed by author, title and subject. Titles included are;
 
Cambodia  Z3232 .J37 1997      
China  Z3106 .C465 1997
Hong Kong  Z3107 .H7 S36 1990
Indonesia  Z3271 .K73 1994
Japan  Z3301 .S475 1989
Korea  Z3316 .H63 1997
Laos  Z3233 .C67 1991
Macau  Z3107 .M24 E35 1989
Malaysia  Z3246 .B76 1999
Mongolia  Z3121 .N67 1993
Philippines  Z3296 .R53 1989
Singapore  Z3285 .Q33 1988
Sri Lanka  Z3211 .S26 1987
Taiwan  Z3116 .L43 1990
Thailand  Z3236 .S69 1998
Tibet  Z3107 .T5 P56 1991
 Vietnam  Z3226 .M37 1992t

Oxford Bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies which will help you to narrow the vast number of citations to the best scholarship on a given topic.

Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

For example, there are research guides on Buddhism, Chinese Studies and Hinduism.