Skip to main content

Asian Studies

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Consult specialized encyclopedias or dictionaries to get a broad overview of a subject, a concise overview of a concept, school of thought or person.
 
To find encyclopedias or dictionaries on your topic, search QCAT using the keywords of your topic combined with "encyclopedia" or "dictionaries".
 
For example:  china and (dictionaries or encyclopedia?)

General

Brill's Encyclopedia of China
DS755 .B86 2009
 
China Today : an Encyclopedia of Life in the People's Republic
DS777.6 .C458 2005 (REF Education Library)
Provides entries on topics covering politics, the economy and culture of both the People's Republic of China and Taiwan since 1949. Includes cross-references, a chronology and illustrations.
 
Encyclopedia of India
REF DS407 .E62 1992 (32 vols.)
 
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
REF DS4 .E53 2002
Provides detailed entries arranged alphabetically. Entries include black and white photographs and maps, and sidebars provide interesting and relevant information: for example regional recipes are available under the entry for "cuisine".
 
 
Information China : the Comprehensive and Authoritative Reference Source of New China
REF DS706 .I5 1989
Provides the official Chinese perspective on China's history, politics and society.
 
Japan Encyclopedia
REF DS821 .F73 2002
A concise encyclopedia covering Japan from its origins through modern times. Includes maps, illustrations, and a detailed chronology.
 
REF JC311 .M54 1998
Discusses important political, social, cultural and economic issues since 1850. Entries are signed and include references for further reading.

History

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan and the Maldives
REF DS334.9 .C36

Historical Dictionary of Guangzhou (Canton) and Guangdong
REF DS796 .C2 J64 1999
Alphabetically lists the people, places, events and cultural activities of the modern history of Guangzhou and Guangdong.
 
Southeast Asia : a Historical Encyclopedia, from Angkor Wat to East Timor
DS524 .S68 2004 (REF Education Library)
Provides an overview of Southeast Asia from prehistoric times to the present.

Languages

Dictionaries for 26 languages of South Asia
 
Oxford Chinese Desk Dictionary : English-Chinese, Chinese-English
REF  PL1455 .O87 2009
 

Philosophy

Political Science

The Asian Political Dictionary
REF DS31 .Z57 1985
Entries are alphabetical within specific subject areas. Includes a general index as well as by country.
 
Dictionary of the Modern Politics of Japan
REF JQ1605 .S86 2003
Provides a summary of the political system and its evolution as well as various political theories.
 
REF DS520.7 .L44 1995
Provides entries for each country, followed by entries for people, events, organisations, and treaties, arranged alphabetically. 

Religion and Mythology

Dictionary of Asian Mythology
REF BL1005 .L46 2001

Theatre and Film

The Anime Encyclopedia : a Guide to Japanese Animation since 1917
 NC1766.J3 C53 2006
 
Encyclopedia of Asian Theatre
REF PN2860 .E53 2007
A comprehensive guide to both traditional and contemporary theatre throughout Asia. Signed entries are alphabetical and include suggestions for further reading.
 
REF PN1993.5 .C4 Z53 1998
 
Historical Dictionary of Japanese Traditional Theatre
REF PN2921 .L45 2006
Addresses the four genres of traditional Japanese theatre from many perspectives, including actors, theatres, companies, history, makeup, costumes, masks, biographies, theories, training, music, religion, and criticism. Includes a chronology and glossary. 
 
Historical dictionary of Japanese Traditional Theatre
PN2921 .L45 2006

Other Resources

REF DS779.23 .E52 2005
Over 1100 entries on cultural events, ideas and artefacts in China since the 1980s. Organized alphabetically under broad topic headings with suggestions for further reading.
 
DS822.5 .E516 2002
 
The Encyclopedia of the Chinese Overseas
REF DS732 .E53 1999
An overview of Chinese emigration and communities around the globe. Includes maps and colour photographs.
 
 
MIT Encyclopedia of the Japanese Economy
REF HC462.9 .H73 1999
Covers major aspects of Japan's post-war economy including: banks; financial systems; major industries; corporate groups, management practices; labour unions; international trade and investments; and government economic policies.
 
South Asian Folklore : an Encyclopedia : Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka
GR302 .S68 2003
 
 
 

Browsing the Library Shelves

Browsing the library shelves is another strategy for locating information on a topic
 
BL 2000-2032  Religions of India
DS 1-937          History of Asia
DS 401-486.8   History of India
DS 701-799.9   History of China
DS 801-897      History of Japan
DS 901-937      History of Korea
GN 625-635     Anthropology of Asia
JQ 1499-1749  Political Institutions; Public
                          Administration East Asia
PK 2631-2646  Panjabi Language
PK 2650-2665  Panjabi Literature
PL 501-699       Japanese Language
PL 700-889       Japanese Literature
PL 1001-1960  Chinese Language
PL 2250-3208  Chinese Literature
PL 3301-3311  Non-Chinese Languages
                          of China

Featured Titles

undefined

undefined

undefined

undefined

undefined