1998 - Electronic theses and dissertations are harvested monthly from Canadian universities. However, for those that have been digitized by ProQuest Disserations & Theses, there is a four-year contractual time lag to access fulltext. Available to anyone on the web.
Older theses may also available digitally. Please check the Thesis Canada site to check for individual pre-1998 title
NOTE: Library and Archives Canada (LAC) ceased its interlibrary loan (ILL) service as of December 2012. Queen’s is no longer able to borrow material held at LAC which includes newspapers and archival material on microfilm and Canadian university theses.
A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world from 1861-present. Full text since 1997, with strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Abstracts since 1980 for doctoral dissertations and since 1988 for masters' theses. Citations since 1861.
The Austrian dissertation database contains the bibliographical data of dissertations approved in Austria from 1990 on, and in most cases the relevant abstracts. (This website is hosted by the National Library of Austria).
DissOnline provides information on the subject of electronic university publications. It can be used to find out directly all about online dissertations and post-doctoral theses. Sample documents can be downloaded to provide help in the creation of electronic university publications. For more information about the portal, please go to German National Library website (DNB).
National Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations in Taiwan is an open full-text permanent archive of scholarly research in Taiwan.
Other Latin American Countries
Some electronic theses from Bolivia, Brasil, Chile and Peru can be found at Cybertesis.NET, a portal created by the University of Chile (Information Services & Library System) that provides an easily accessible tool to full text electronic theses published in different universities of the world.
For more university/national library catalogues, search for the word University/Universidad and the country (Argentina, Peru, etc.) in Google. Find the link to the library (biblioteca) and search the catalogue for theses (tesis). You may need to click on the advanced search function (búsqueda guíada or búsqueda avanzada) and select tesis as a format or type.
TIP: The Library sometimes can have a copy of a dissertation from another university--either purchased by the Library, or purchased by an individual student or faculty member and later donated to the library collection so always check QCAT
Theses do not circulate.
Theses from Other Institutions
Queen’s students, faculty and staff can submit a request for the item via RACER. In order to obtain a thesis or dissertation from another institution, you will need the following information: author, title, date and institution.
It may be possible to borrow a thesis without cost to you although only a few libraries will lend copies of their theses. Please indicate in the Special Instructions area that only a loan is desired. If this is not possible, the Interlibrary Loan staff will get back to you.
Theses that are not available for loan or download, can usually be purchased.
Costs vary as to format of reproduction (unbound paper copies or PDF files).