Skip to main content

Book Reviews

Social Science Indexes

Indexes over 2100 periodicals covering all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture, area studies and current events. Reviews have been included since 1974. Under Document Type, limit to Book Reviews.
 
Business Periodicals Index
HF5001.B97 (1958-1995) Compact Shelving
Starting with 1975/1976, citations to reviews are listed alphabetically by author in the Book Reviews section at the end of each volume.
 
Under More Search Options: Source type, select Book Review. Includes full text of book reviews published in the Journal of Economic Literature since 1993.
 
Education Index
REF Z5813.E2 (1941/44-1992/93)
Beginning with 1975/1976, citations to reviews are listed alphabetically by author in the Book Reviews section at the end of each volume.
 
Print holdings: Full-text of documents on microfiche in the Education Library: 1966-2002.
This resource is the major index to education literature. Select Advanced Search, then type words from the title as a keyword or title search. Under Publication Type, select Book/Product Reviews.
 
Interdisciplinary coverage of gender-related topics. Under Document Type, select Book Review.
 
"Maintained by Michigan State University, this site provides book reviews of academic books. Reviews are written by members of the academic community."
 
Full text of reviews in humanities, social science and science journals.
 
Lambda Book Report is the most established review of LGBT literature in the United States. Check the website for current reviews.
 
Coverage varies by title, beginning no earlier than 1993. To find book reviews, choose Advanced Search and then "Reviews" under Content Type. .
 
Under box: Show Content Where, select Document Type from drop-down menu and then select Review-Book. 
 
To limit your search to book reviews, select database (SSCI) under More Settings, then click Advanced Search and highlight Book Review in the box under "Restrict results by any or all of the options below".
 
In Advanced Search, select Book Review under Document Type.