Skip to main content

Queen's School of English

Includes resources of support teaching and learning in the Queen's School of English.

Get started with a reference source

Reference resources are a great place to begin your research.  They can help you define terms as well as to find basic information about a topic, a timeline, theories, key people and sometimes a bibliography of additional sources. 

You may search Summon for a general encyclopedia such as World Book or a specialized Encyclopedia on your topic such as Oxford Reference Online: Search Age of Machinery

Oxford Reference Online - History
Access to a collection of over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works. Narrow your Choices on the left toolbar. 

See 'More on this Topic' in the left, blue sidebar.

The first result is for Industrialization in the Oxford Companion to the Romantic Age. Industrialization is another word you may want to add to your searches.

Stevenson, J.(1999). Industrialization. In An Oxford Companion to the Romantic Age. : Oxford University Press. Retrieved 2 Feb. 2018, from http://www.oxfordreference.com/view/10.1093/acref/9780199245437.001.0001/acref-9780199245437-e-342.

See the left hand tool bar for more on this topic and related content to narrow your focus.

 

Oxford Bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies which will help you to narrow the vast number of citations to the best scholarship on a given topic. Select Victorian Literature

Searching Age of Machinery offers the first entry Technology and farther down the list Machines. Select Machines and browse 'In This Article' at left for subcategories. 

Make note you now have more words to add to your search possibilities: Age of Machinery, Machines, and Technology,  Industrial Revolution

Wikipedia can be a useful source of information as a first pass at a topic with which you are unfamiliar, however as it is a free online encyclopedia that aims to allow anyone to edit articles, thus it fails the information literacy test we applied on the front page of this guide, specifically authority, objectivity and accuracy.

If you do use Wikipedia follow up on the footnotes to trace the citation back to its original source to verify what you have read. Also, much of what is posted in Wikipedia is cut and pasted from other sources without attribution, so if you use that information you may unwittingly plagiarize

Books

This book provides fresh perspectives on the object world, embodied experience and materiality in nineteenth-century literature and culture. Contributors explore canonical works by Austen, Brontë, Dickens and James.

These essays examine how Victorian fiction registers the psychological adjustment involved in keeping pace with industrial time as time-saving technologies aimed at making economic life more efficient, signalling the dawn of a new age of accelerated time.