Research Guides: Biomedical Engineering: Finding Articles

Owner

Email Me

Articles

Peer-reviewed journal articles are an important scientific communication tool in engineering. The peer-review publication process ensures that the research findings are trustworthy, accurate, and of value to the field. They often contain the first reports of new research and sometimes contain literature review summaries of past research conducted on a topic that is of current interest.

Flow of Scientific Information
This chart visualizes the creation process of scientific information, beginning from the first idea or hypothesis through each different type of research output (article, conference proceeding, monograph, handbook, etc.).

Biomedical Engineering Journals

These are some prominent Biomedical Engineering journals. This is not an exhaustive list.

Article Databases

The library provides access to many databases that will help you in your search for biomedical engineering articles. Here are a few to get you started:

Web of Science
A large, multidisciplinary database, Web of Science provides access to bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references from scholarly journals and conference proceedings. A cited reference search enables you to find articles that cite a previously published work.
Biosis Previews
Life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. BIOSIS is available in Web of Science.
Compendex
Engineering literature database hosted on the Engineering Village. Covers all engineering disciplines from 1884 to the present.
Inspec
Inspec is a multidisciplinary database covering the literature of physics, electrical engineering, electronics, mechanical and production engineering, communications and computing dating back to 1896.
MEDLINE
Ovid MEDLINE ® covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide.
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database, including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.

Publisher Databases

IEEE Xplore
Full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings, plus select content back to 1950, and all current IEEE Standards.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
Search journals, books and reference works published by Elsevier (with full-text available for those publications to which Queen's has an online subscription).
SPIE Digital Library
Covers SPIE journals, conference proceedings and e-books on optics and photonics applied research.
SpringerLink
Search journals, books and reference works published by Springer (with full-text available for those publications to which Queen's has an online subscription).

Omni

Use Omni to search the library's catalogue for books, articles, videos, maps, government documents, music, data sets, open access materials, and more. You can discover materials that are not available at Queen's but that you can freely request either within Omni or through interlibrary loan.

How to Read a Scientific Paper

How to Read a Scientific Paper
An overview of and infographic illustrating how to read a scientific paper.
Anatomy of a Scholarly Article (NCSU Libraries)

Where's the Article?

If the full-text is not available in the database, click on the Get It @ Queen's button to see if the article is available electronically (either from a journal or another database) or in print.

If the article is not available, you can request a copy using Interlibrary Loans. It's free!