Reference works are a great place to start your research as they provide quick, authoritative introductions to a topic. Common reference works include dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, atlases, almanacs, and style manuals, and contain useful information such as descriptions, definitions, statistics, lists, quotes, properties, and standards.
Information from reference works is commonly used in the following two ways:
Context: If you want to know more about a topic that you are researching, or even a topic that is completely new to you, you can use a reference book. For example, if you use Wikipedia to look up general information about a topic or event, you are using Wikipedia as a reference tool. However, Wikipedia can be edited by anyone, so it is not necessarily the most authoritative or trustworthy source of information. The reference sources from the library have already been vetted for authority and quality so you know that the information contained within them is high-quality.
Supporting Arguments: Reference materials can be used to support facts or other arguments that you make in a paper or assignment. Again, this information may be available on the web, but you would have to do some additional work to ensure that the source is reliable, whereas the reference materials in the library have already been vetted.
Many of the library's reference materials are available online, so you can access them from anywhere and easily search for the information you need. If you have any questions about using reference materials, or would like a librarian to help you find the best sources, choose the "book a consultation" link on the left.
Biomedical Engineering and Design Handbook, Volumes I and II by
A State-of-the-Art Guide to Biomedical Engineering and Design Fundamentals and Applications The two-volume Biomedical Engineering and Design Handbook, Second Edition offers unsurpassed coverage of the entire biomedical engineering field, including fundamental concepts, design and development processes, and applications. This landmark work contains contributions on a wide range of topics from nearly 80 leading experts at universities, medical centers, and commercial and law firms. Volume 1 focuses on the basics of biomedical engineering, including biomedical systems analysis, biomechanics of the human body, biomaterials, and bioelectronics. Filled with more than 500 detailed illustrations, this superb volume provides the foundational knowledge required to understand the design and development of innovative devices, techniques, and treatments. Volume 2 provides timely information on breakthrough developments in medical device design, diagnostic equipment design, surgery, rehabilitation engineering, prosthetics design, and clinical engineering. Filled with more than 400 detailed illustrations, this definitive volume examines cutting-edge design and development methods for innovative devices, techniques, and treatments. Volume 1 covers: Modeling and Simulation of Biomedical Systems Bioheat Transfer Physical and Flow Properties of Blood Respiratory Mechanics and Gas Exchange Biomechanics of the Respiratory Muscles Biomechanics of Human Movement Biomechanics of the Musculoskeletal System Biodynamics Bone Mechanics Finite Element Analysis Vibration, Mechanical Shock, and Impact Electromyography Biopolymers Biomedical Composites Bioceramics Cardiovascular Biomaterials Dental Materials Orthopaedic Biomaterials Biomaterials to Promote Tissue Regeneration Bioelectricity Biomedical Signal Analysis Biomedical Signal Processing Intelligent Systems and Bioengineering BioMEMS Volume 2 covers: Medical Product Design FDA Medical Device Requirements Cardiovascular Devices Design of Respiratory Devices Design of Artificial Kidneys Design of Controlled-Release Drug Delivery Systems Sterile Medical Device Package Development Design of Magnetic Resonance Systems Instrumentation Design for Ultrasonic Imaging The Principles of X-Ray Computed Tomography Nuclear Medicine Imaging Instrumentation Breast Imaging Systems Surgical Simulation Technologies Computer-Integrated Surgery and Medical Robotics Technology and Disabilities Applied Universal Design Design of Artificial Arms and Hands for Prosthetic Applications Design of Artificial Limbs for Lower Extremity Amputees Wear of Total Knee and Hip Joint Replacements Home Modification Design Intelligent Assistive Technology Rehabilitators Risk Management in Healthcare Technology Planning for Healthcare Institutions Healthcare Facilities Planning Healthcare Systems Engineering Enclosed Habitat Life Support
Handbook on Advanced Design and Manufacturing Technologies for Biomedical Devices by
​The last decades have seen remarkable advances in computer‐aided design, engineering and manufacturing technologies, multi‐variable simulation tools, medical imaging, biomimetic design, rapid prototyping, micro and nanomanufacturing methods and information management resources, all of which provide new horizons for the Biomedical Engineering fields and the Medical Device Industry. Advanced Design and Manufacturing Technologies for Biomedical Devices covers such topics in depth, with an applied perspective and providing several case studies that help to analyze and understand the key factors of the different stages linked to the development of a novel biomedical device, from the conceptual and design steps, to the prototyping and industrialization phases. Main research challenges and future potentials are also discussed, taking into account relevant social demands and a growing market already exceeding billions of dollars. In time, advanced biomedical devices will decisively change methods and results in the medical world, dramatically improving diagnoses and therapies for all kinds of pathologies. But if these biodevices are to fulfill present expectations, today's engineers need a thorough grounding in related simulation, design and manufacturing technologies, and collaboration between experts of different areas has to be promoted, as is also analyzed within this handbook.
Biomedical Engineering and Design Handbook, Volumes I and II by
A State-of-the-Art Guide to Biomedical Engineering and Design Fundamentals and Applications The two-volume Biomedical Engineering and Design Handbook, Second Edition offers unsurpassed coverage of the entire biomedical engineering field, including fundamental concepts, design and development processes, and applications. This landmark work contains contributions on a wide range of topics from nearly 80 leading experts at universities, medical centers, and commercial and law firms. Volume 1 focuses on the basics of biomedical engineering, including biomedical systems analysis, biomechanics of the human body, biomaterials, and bioelectronics. Filled with more than 500 detailed illustrations, this superb volume provides the foundational knowledge required to understand the design and development of innovative devices, techniques, and treatments. Volume 2 provides timely information on breakthrough developments in medical device design, diagnostic equipment design, surgery, rehabilitation engineering, prosthetics design, and clinical engineering. Filled with more than 400 detailed illustrations, this definitive volume examines cutting-edge design and development methods for innovative devices, techniques, and treatments. Volume 1 covers: Modeling and Simulation of Biomedical Systems Bioheat Transfer Physical and Flow Properties of Blood Respiratory Mechanics and Gas Exchange Biomechanics of the Respiratory Muscles Biomechanics of Human Movement Biomechanics of the Musculoskeletal System Biodynamics Bone Mechanics Finite Element Analysis Vibration, Mechanical Shock, and Impact Electromyography Biopolymers Biomedical Composites Bioceramics Cardiovascular Biomaterials Dental Materials Orthopaedic Biomaterials Biomaterials to Promote Tissue Regeneration Bioelectricity Biomedical Signal Analysis Biomedical Signal Processing Intelligent Systems and Bioengineering BioMEMS Volume 2 covers: Medical Product Design FDA Medical Device Requirements Cardiovascular Devices Design of Respiratory Devices Design of Artificial Kidneys Design of Controlled-Release Drug Delivery Systems Sterile Medical Device Package Development Design of Magnetic Resonance Systems Instrumentation Design for Ultrasonic Imaging The Principles of X-Ray Computed Tomography Nuclear Medicine Imaging Instrumentation Breast Imaging Systems Surgical Simulation Technologies Computer-Integrated Surgery and Medical Robotics Technology and Disabilities Applied Universal Design Design of Artificial Arms and Hands for Prosthetic Applications Design of Artificial Limbs for Lower Extremity Amputees Wear of Total Knee and Hip Joint Replacements Home Modification Design Intelligent Assistive Technology Rehabilitators Risk Management in Healthcare Technology Planning for Healthcare Institutions Healthcare Facilities Planning Healthcare Systems Engineering Enclosed Habitat Life Support
Clinical Engineering Handbook by
As the biomedical engineering field expands throughout the world, clinical engineers play an evermore-important role as translators between the medical, engineering, and business professions. They influence procedure and policy at research facilities, universities, as well as private and government agencies including the Food and Drug Administration and the World Health Organization. The profession of clinical engineering continues to seek its place amidst the myriad of professionals that comprise the health care field. The Clinical Engineering Handbook meets a long felt need for a comprehensive book on all aspects of clinical engineering that is a suitable reference in hospitals, classrooms, workshops, and governmental and non-governmental organization. The Handbook s thirteen sections address the following areas: Clinical Engineering; Models of Clinical Engineering Practice; Technology Management; Safety Education and Training; Design, Manufacture, and Evaluation and Control of Medical Devices; Utilization and Service of Medical Devices; Information Technology; and Professionalism and Ethics. The Clinical Engineering Handbook provides the reader with prospects for the future of clinical engineering as well as guidelines and standards for best practice around the world. From telemedicine and IT issues, to sanitation and disaster planning, it brings together all the important aspects of clinical engineering. * Clinical Engineers are the safety and quality faciltators in all medical facilities. * The most definitive, comprehensive, and up-to-date book available on the subject of clinical engineering. * Over 170 contributions by leaders in the field of clinical engineering."
Biomedical Engineering Desk Reference by
A one-stop Desk Reference, for Biomedical Engineers involved in the ever expanding and very fast moving area; this is a book that will not gather dust on the shelf. It brings together the essential professional reference content from leading international contributors in the biomedical engineering field. Material covers a broad range of topics including: Biomechanics and Biomaterials; Tissue Engineering; and Biosignal Processing
Molecular Biomethods Handbook by
Recent advances in the biosciences have led to a range of powerful new technologies, particularly nucleic acid, protein and cell-based methodologies. The most recent insights have come to affect how scientists investigate and define cellular processes at the molecular level. Molecular Biomethods Handbook, 2nd Edition expands upon the techniques included in the first edition, providing theory, outlines of practical procedures, and applications for a range of techniques. Part A of the book describes nucleic acid methods, such as gene expression profiling, microarray analysis and quantitative PCR. In Part B, protein and cell-based methods are outlined, in subjects ranging from protein engineering to high throughput screening. Written by a well-established panel of research scientists, Molecular Biomethods Handbook, 2nd Edition provides an up to date collection of methods used regularly in the authorsa (TM) own research programs. This book will prove to be an invaluable reference for those engaged in or entering the field of molecular biology, and will provide the necessary background for those interested in setting up and using the latest molecular techniques.
Encyclopedia of Tribology by
TRIBOLOGY - the study of friction, wear and lubrication - impacts almost every aspect of our daily lives. The Springer Encyclopedia of Tribology is an authoritative and comprehensive reference covering all major aspects of the science and engineering of tribology that are relevant to researchers across all engineering industries and related scientific disciplines. This is the first major reference that brings together the science, engineering and technological aspects of tribology of this breadth and scope in a single work. Developed and written by leading experts in the field, the Springer Encyclopedia of Tribology covers the fundamentals as well as advanced applications across material types, different length and time scales, and encompassing various engineering applications and technologies. Exciting new areas such as nanotribology, tribochemistry and biotribology have also been included. As a six-volume set, the Springer Encyclopedia of Tribology comprises 1630 entries written by authoritative experts in each subject area, under the guidance of an international panel of key researchers from academia, national laboratories and industry. With alphabetically-arranged entries, concept diagrams and cross-linking features, this comprehensive work provides easy access to essential information for both researchers and practicing engineers in the fields of engineering (aerospace, automotive, biomedical, chemical, electrical, and mechanical) as well as materials science, physics, and chemistry.
Handbook of Human Factors in Medical Device Design by
Developed to promote the design of safe, effective, and usable medical devices, Handbook of Human Factors in Medical Device Design provides a single convenient source of authoritative information to support evidence-based design and evaluation of medical device user interfaces using rigorous human factors engineering principles. It offers guidance on user-centric design supported by discussions of design issues, case studies, and examples. The book sets the foundation with coverage of fundamental topics such as aligning the interactive nature of medical devices to the expected use environments ranging from hospitals and ambulances to patients' homes, drawing on anthropometric and biomechanical data to ensure that designs match the intended users' bodies and physical abilities, and conducting usability tests and other evaluations to ensure that devices perform as intended. It then focuses on applied design issues, offering guidance on the design of specific types of devices and designing devices for particular use environments. Adapted in part from established design standards and conventions, the design guidance presented in this work distills professional judgment extracted from the contributing authors' years of experience in applied analysis and design. Written in true handbook style, each chapter stands alone and includes tables, illustrations, and cross references, allowing you to quickly find the exact information you need. Most chapters begin with a general introduction to the selected topic, followed by the presentation of general and special design considerations and then specific, numbered design guidelines. The book also presents a listing of resources, literature, and website references. It not only focuses on the human factors issues that arise when developing medical devices, it supplies the necessary guidance to resolve them.
Springer Handbook of Mechanical Engineering by
This resource covers all areas of interest for the practicing engineer as well as for the student at various levels and educational institutions. It features the work of authors from all over the world who have contributed their expertise and support the globally working engineer in finding a solution for today's mechanical engineering problems. Each subject is discussed in detail and supported by numerous figures and tables.
Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers Sixteenth Edition by
THE MOST COMPLETE AND CURRENT GUIDE TO ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING For more than a century, the "Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers" has served as the definitive source for all the pertinent electrical engineering data essential to both engineering students and practicing engineers. It offers comprehensive information on the generation, transmission, distribution, control, operation, and application of electric power. Completely revised throughout to address the latest codes and standards, the 16th Edition of this renowned reference offers new coverage of green technologies such as smart grids, smart meters, renewable energy, and cogeneration plants. Modern computer applications and methods for securing computer network infrastructures that control power grids are also discussed. Featuring hundreds of detailed illustrations and contributions from more than 75 global experts, this state-of-the-art volume is an essential tool for every electrical engineer. "Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers," 16th Edition, covers: Units, symbols, constants, definitions, and conversion factors * Electric and magnetic circuits * Measurements and instruments * Properties of materials * Generation * Prime movers * Alternating-current generators * Direct-current generators * Hydroelectric power generation * Power system components * Alternate sources of power * Electric power system economics * Project economics * Transmission systems * High-voltage direct-current power transmission * Power system operations * Substations * Power distribution * Wiring design for commercial and industrial buildings * Motors and drives * Industrial and commercial applications of electric power * Power electronics * Power quality and reliability * Grounding systems * Computer applications in the electric power industry * Illumination * Lightning and overvoltage protection * Standards in electrotechnology, telecommunications, and information technology
Illustrated Dictionary of Biotechnology by
Helping to support a common language in this rapidly evolving field, the Illustrated Dictionary of Biotechnology includes a range of terms wide enough to satisfy the needs of any researcher, clinician, lawyer, investor, student, or instructor whose work involves contact with new advances in science and medicine. In clear and lucid English, it provides straightforward definitions and invaluable background information so that even complex terms require only a rudimentary understanding of the life sciences. Extensive cross-referencing expands individual definitions, enable readers to follow a chosen theme. Illustrations are included where they enhance understanding.
A Dictionary of Biomedicine by
This brand new Dictionary of Biomedicine includes 10,000 A-Z entries on all areas of biomedicine. Entries are authoritative and wide-ranging, covering terms from the related areas of anatomy, genetics, molecular bioscience, pathology, pharmacology, and clinical medicine. Biomedicine - thestudy of molecular bioscience relating to disease - is playing an increasingly important role in medical application, diagnosis, and treatment. As molecular bioscience provides greater insights and techniques than ever before into the practice of modern medicine, there is an increasing need for anaffordable dictionary covering the specialist language used within this evolving field. This dictionary, written by an expert in the field, fills this need by offering clear, concise definitions of even the most complex biomedical terms.Many entries feature recommended web links which are accessed and kept up to date via the Dictionary of Biomedicine companion webpage, and supplementary material includes the Greek Alphabet, SI Units and single letter codes for Amino Acids. Fully cross-referenced, it also features usefulnavigational entries for types of diseases and disorders - for example renal disorders - that list all related entries in the dictionary so the reader can find them quickly.Aimed primarily at molecular bioscientists, clinicians, and students of biomedical courses, the dictionary will also be an invaluable resource for patients and journalists wishing to find out more about a particular disease.
Glossary of Biotechnology and Nanobiotechnology Terms by
Even if you studied biotechnology in school, if you haven''t stayed current, it''s not likely you''ll be able to speak the same language as today''s biotech scientists. The same is even truer for nanotechnology where everything gets smaller and smaller, except the terminology required to navigate it. In the Glossary of Biotechnology and Nanobiotechnology Terms, Fourth Edition, Kimball Nill continues to improve upon the reference that for over a decade has helped thousands of professionals, including scientists, attorneys, government workers, lobbyists, venture capitalists, and university tech transfer staff, to communicate successfully with those working on the cutting edge of modern science. Now in its fourth edition, Nill has taken the much appreciated step of adding nanotechnology to his glossary. Just by casually perusing the Glossary of Biotechnology and Nanobiotechnology Terms, Fourth Edition you will learn a number of enlightening facts. Even those in related sciences will be surprised to discover what the language unveils. The Glossary of Biotechnology and Nanobiotechnology Terms, Fourth Edition is a handy reference designed for people with little or no training in the biological and chemical sciences, as well as scientists communicating from other disciplines. Unlike other glossaries, this one is both informative and completely accessible. Instead of looking up one term to end up mired in equally difficult terminology, this intelligently designed volume follows what the author refers to as a Reference Chain that steadily leads you to simpler more common terminology, down to a level that anyone with a high school education will be able to understand. The definitions are written utilizing words that enable you to conceptualize the idea embodied in the term, with explanations based on analogy whenever possible. Consider this example: Suppose you just received a funding request, a faculty memo, or patent concern that refers to A-DNA, which happens to be the first definition in the Glossary. A-DNA A particular right-handed helical form of DNA (possessing 11 base pairs per turn), which is the form that DNA molecules exist in when they are partially dehydrated. A-form DNA is found in fibers at 75% relative humidity and requires the presence of sodium, potassium, or cesium as the counterion. Instead of lying flat, the bases are tilted with respect to the helical axis, and there are more base pairs per turn. The A-form is biologically interesting because it is probably very close to the conformation adopted by DNA-RNA hybrids or by RNA-RNA double-stranded regions. The reason is that the presence of the 2''2 hydroxyl group prevents RNA from lying in the B-form. See also B-DNA, DNA-RNA HYBRID, DEOXYRIBONUCLEIC ACID (DNA), BASE PAIR (bp) But then after looking at the above definition, you wonder what exactly is a DNA-RNA Hybrid? DNA-RNA Hybrid A double helix that consists of one chain of DNA hydrogen-bonded to a chain of RNA by means of complementary base pairs. See also HYBRIDIZATION (MOLECULAR GENETICS), HYBRIDIZATION (PLANT GENETICS), DOUBLE HELIX ¿however while you''ve often heard mention of a double helix, you were never quite sure what that meant¿. Double Helix The natural coiled conformation of two complementary, antiparallel DNA chains. This structure was first put forward by Watson and Crick in 1953. See also DEOXYRIBONUCLEIC ACID (DNA) And that might brings you to ask, Do you really actually know what DNA is? Deoxyribonucleic Acid (DNA) Discovered by Frederick Miescher in 1869, it is the chemical basis for genes. The chemical building blocks (molecules) of which genes (i.e., paired nucleotide units that code for a protein to be produced by a cell''s machinery, such as its ribosomes) are constructed. Every inherited characteristic has its origin somewhere in the code of the organism''s complement of DNA. The code is made up of subunits called nucleic acids. The sequence of the four nucleic acids is interpreted by certain molecular systems in order to produce the proteins required by an organism. The structure of the DNA molecule was elucidated in 1953¿. The Glossary of Biotechnology and Nanobiotechnology Terms, Fourth Edition is packed with over 400 pages of exceptionally well-organized and cross-referenced terminology, making it an essential reference for anyone working directly or indirectly with those pioneering the frontiers of modern biology.
Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering by
Written by more than 400 subject experts representing diverse academic and applied domains, this multidisciplinary resource surveys the vanguard of biomaterials and biomedical engineering technologies utilizing biomaterials that lead to quality-of-life improvements. Building on traditional engineering principles, it serves to bridge advances in materials science, life sciences, nanotechnology, and cell biology to innovations in solving medical problems with applications in tissue engineering, prosthetics, drug delivery, biosensors, and medical devices. In nearly 300 entries, this four-volume Encyclopedia of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering, Second Edition covers: essential topics integral to tissue engineering research: bioreactors, scaffolding materials and fabrication, tissue mechanics, cellular interaction, and development of major tissues and organs being attempted by researchers worldwide artificial lungs and muscles, bio-artificial livers, and corneal, dental, inner ear, and total hip implants tissue engineering of blood vessels, heart valves, ligaments, microvascular networks, skeletal muscle, and skin bone remodeling, bone cement, and bioabsorbable bone plates and screws controlled drug delivery, insulin delivery, and transdermal and ocular implant-based drug delivery endovascular stent grafts, vascular grafts, and xenografts 3-D medical imaging, electrical impedance imaging, and intravascular ultrasound biomedical, protein adsorption, and in vivo cardiovascular modeling polymer foams, biofunctional and conductive polymers, and electroactive polymeric materials blood-material interactions, the bone-implant interface, host reactions, and foreign body responses and much more Also Available Online This Taylor & Francis encyclopedia is also available through online subscription, offering a variety of extra benefits for researchers, students, and librarians, including:  Citation tracking and alerts  Active reference linking  Saved searches and marked lists  HTML and PDF format options Contact Taylor and Francis for more information or to inquire about subscription options and print/online combination packages. US: (Tel) 1.888.318.2367; (E-mail) e-reference@taylorandfrancis.com International: (Tel) +44 (0) 20 7017 6062; (E-mail) online.sales@tandf.co.uk
Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics, and Informatics by
This new third edition updates a best-selling encyclopedia. It includes about 56% more words than the 1,392-page second edition of 2003. The number of illustrations increased to almost 2,000 and their quality has improved by design and four colors. It includes approximately 1,800 current databases and web servers. This encyclopedia covers the basics and the latest in genomics, proteomics, genetic engineering, small RNAs, transcription factories, chromosome territories, stem cells, genetic networks, epigenetics, prions, hereditary diseases, and patents. Similar integrated information is not available in textbooks or on the Internet.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences by
Wiley is pleased to announce the recent acquisition of the prestigious Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (ELS) from the Nature Publishing Group. "The most ambitious single source reference source ever produced in the biological sciences" --American Reference Books Annual Spanning the entire spectrum of life science research, the Encyclopedia features more than 3,000 specially commissioned and peer-reviewed articles. These concentrate primarily on the molecular and cellular life sciences, including biochemical topics, methods and techniques. Applied areas of science are also included on a selective basis, as are biographies and general interest articles on ethics and the history of science. Articles are divided into three categories indicating their level of complexity: Introductory articles ELS features more than 1,400 introductory level articles. These have been written primarily for undergraduates and non-specialists requiring the basic concepts of a particular subject. Scientists and researchers looking to extend their knowledge outside their own specific field of interest will also find these articles useful. Advanced articles Over 1,800 advanced articles provide more detailed discussions of specialised subjects, at a level equivalent to that found in graduate level texts. Keynote articles Written by leading international scientists, these keynote articles cover hot topics and controversial issues. All articles have been rigorously peer-reviewed and edited prior to publication by an international Editorial Advisory Board of 180 subject specialist advisors. Most articles are accompanied by colour illustrations and tables, with appendix and glossary material providing essential information for the non-specialist, including biochemical and taxonomic information, acronyms/synonyms, units and other technical data. "In particular, the illustrations are excellent..." --Microbiology Today The ELS provides an excellent source of information for undergraduates, graduates, post-graduates, teachers/lecturers as well as professionals and researchers working in the biomedical sciences and related areas. Although chapters on more complex subjects have been written primarily for those with a scientific background, unnecessary technical jargon is avoided, enabling the material to be accessed by the non-specialist. "This resource is a must-have for all biological sciences libraries and most larger academic and public libraries. It will be used often by undergraduate and graduate biology students, scientists, researchers, professors and government employees and journalists." --American Reference Books Annual
Wiley Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering by
Wiley Encyclopedia of Biomedical Engineering is a living and evolving repository of the biomedical engineering (BME) knowledge base. To represent the vast diversity of the field and its multi-and cross-disciplinary nature and serve the BME community, the scope and content is comprehensive. As a peer reviewed primer, educational material, technical reference, research and development resource, the project encompasses the "best" in terms of its intellectual substance and rigor.
Use Omni to search the library's catalogue for books, articles, videos, maps, government documents, music, data sets, open access materials, and more. You can discover materials that are not available at Queen's but that you can freely request either within Omni or through interlibrary loan.
