Skip to main content

Microforms

C Collections

Canadian Census Records: 1666-1911

Census returns are official Government of Canada records that enumerate the country’s population and therefore are an invaluable source of genealogical information. The first census to be taken was a census of New France in 1666. A number of local and regional censuses were taken at varying intervals until 1851, when there was a census of Canada West (Ontario), Canada East (Quebec), New Brunswick and Nova Scotia. Since 1851 a census has been taken every 10 years. Special censuses of the prairie provinces were taken in 1906 and 1916.

The Library has microfilm holdings for the Canadian census records from 1666-1911. Digital images of census records are available from Library and Archives Canada.

Location and Call Number: Stauffer Library Documents  CA1 AK CENSUS RETURNS 1666-1901;1901;1906 1911

Guides:

GUIDE TO CENSUS OF CANADA ON MICROFILM, SERIES M, 1666-1850
Documents ref CA1 AK 87C27

USERS' GUIDE TO CENSUS HISTORICAL DIRECTORIES 1665-1966.
Data Centre  CA1 BSC C5U73

GUIDE TO CENSUS TABULATIONS ON MICROFILM.
Documents ref CA1 BSC 11C07 1911

CENSUS OF 1901 : FINDING AID.
rDocuments ref CA1 AK81 92F71

CENSUS OF 1871 : FINDING AID.
Documents ref CA1 AK81 86F71

CENSUS OF 1881 : FINDING AID.
Documents ref CA1 AK81 86F72

CENSUS OF 1891 : FINDING AID
Documents ref CA1 AK81 86F73

Canadian Labour Papers

This microfilm collection (about 500 reels) contains labour publications, the majority of which are or were official organs of Canadian or international labour organizations, while the remainder are sponsored by fraternal groups, political parties, and private individuals. Some of these latter publications, while written for the labouring man, are definitely anti-union in character. The criteria for inclusion was whether it was addressed primarily to the working people of Canada. The papers range in time from 1872 until the 1970's.

Location and Call Number: Stauffer Library - Microfilms: HD8101 .C365t

Finding Aid for holdings at Queen's
Online via QSpace [pdf]
Stauffer Library - Microfilms: HD8101 .C365t  (located on top of low microfilm cabinets along east wall)

Guide / Index for holdings at Labour Canada Library
Stauffer Library - Documents: CA1 L 59C14
Stauffer Library - Reference: Z6945 .C19 1981
WD Jordan Special Collections - Lorne Pierce Reference: Z6945 .C19

Catalogue de la Societe Canadienne du Microfilm

This collection has around 2,000 titles of North American French-language periodicals published from 1764 to 1978. The titles represent daily and weekly newspapers and/or other serial publications, along with serials published on a more infrequent or irregular basis. The majority of the titles come from Quebec, but there are also publications from the rest of Canada, the United States, and Europe in some instances. Their common characteristic is either a Quebecoise origin (regardless of language), or the French language used in part or all of the text. This collection is an invaluable reference for anyone interested in the history of Quebec and the Francophonie of North America.

The microfilm component of this collection consists of almost all the daily newspapers published in Quebec (as of 1980), as well as the majority of weekly papers. In addition to current publications, hundreds of periodicals that are no longer in print have been filmed. Although the majority of titles are French-language, there are many other languages represented. 

Location: Search QCAT for list of titles available.

See QCAT for list of microfilms available. The print catalog of microfilm publications of the Société canadienne du microfilm which includes periodicals, newspapers, manuscripts, and rare books can be found in Special Collections - Lorne Pierce reference.

D Collections

Dun and Bradstreet Canada Ltd. Reference Books, 1864-1978

This collection consists of volumes reproduced from the Reference Books of Dun and Bradstreet Canada, Ltd. in Toronto. The volumes provide credit ratings on businesses, trades, merchants and manufacturers in Canada during the period of 1864-1978.

Of interest to note is that many of the businesses are no longer in existence, such that the collection provides a longitudinal overview of economic activity at both a specific local area and a national level. Each volume in the collection is arranged by Province/Territory, followed by an alphabetical listing of City, Town, or Village. The volumes are arranged in chronological order.

Location and Call Number: Stauffer Library Compact Shelving at Microfilm no.013-049

Guide/Index Location: Stauffer Library Reference at Z688 .E5 D86 1979t

Dun and Bradstreet, founded in 1841 as The Mercantile Agency in New York City and now more commonly known as D&B, continues as a leading international business information company.