Skip to main content

Microforms

P Collections

Pamphlets and Journals Concerning Race Relations in South Africa

In 1967, Dr. Keppel-Jones, Professor of History at Queen's, loaned his collection of pamphlets and bound documents [published by the South African Institute of Race Relations] to be filmed for the Queen's University Archives, resulting in the present collection of four reels. The index provides a reel-by-reel listing of publications listed by author, title, date, and other bibliographical information, but in no set order. Some topics addressed in the collection include Education, Economics, Colonial Policy, Native Laws Amendment Bill, Health, Political Rights, Apartheid, Employment. The years covered are approximately 1925-1962.

Location and Call Number: Stauffer Library Compact Shelving at Microfilm no.014-129

Guide:
Stauffer Library Books Z3608 .R3 S6 1967 & Stauffer Library - Documents Reference SO6 IRR 67S53

Notes

  • Reproduction quality on these films is fair for the first three reels, and poor on the fourth reel (which has been filmed as a negative, even though it is the continuation of a work filmed as a positive on the third reel). Most frames feature the fingers of whoever was positioning smaller works for filming, and there is considerable chemical streaking on the surface of the fourth reel. In addition, several frames are blurry.
  • The films were wound in reverse sequence on the reels and (as of July 2006) have been rewound in proper order; however, this renders them upside-down for viewing.
  • Professor Arthur Mervyn Keppel-Jones (1909-1996; Rhodes Scholar, 1929) was born in Cape Province, South Africa. He immigrated to Canada with his family in 1959 because of the racial-political situation in his homeland. For many years, Dr. Keppel-Jones was a distinguished Professor of History here at Queen's University. He authored several books and articles on the history of South Africa underpinning contemporary tensions. [Biographical references are from Queen's Alumni Review: Features (Fall 2002 issue), and Canada's Digital Collections (Government of Canada; viewed July 18, 2006).]
  • Dr. Keppel-Jones' article "Where did we take the wrong turning?" (n.d.), published in the Race relations journal, Vol. 26, No. 7 is listed in QCAT and available on microfilm in Stauffer Library Compact Shelving at call number Microfilm HT no.002.

Papers of the American Slave Trade

"In the mid-seventeenth century, British and American merchants began bringing African captives into Britain's New World colonies to be sold into slavery. One hundred fifty years later, nearly all American ports had harbored, at one time or another, locally owned vessels that were likewise engaged .... Papers of the American Slave Trade ... documents the international traffic in slaves in Britain's New World colonies and the United States, providing access to important material on the business aspect of the commerce in human beings." -- from the Scope and Content note of the Publisher's Guide to the Collection

This collection features selections from the Rhode Island Historical Society (Series A): 

  • Part 1: Brown Family Collections - documents from one of the first merchant families in Providence, Rhode Island to partake in the slave trade (23 reels)
  • Part 2: Selected Collections - Papers of slavers, merchants, distillers, and insurers (30 reels)

Location and Call Number: Stauffer Library Microforms at E445 .R4

Guide: Stauffer Library Reference at E445 .R4 Guide ser. A, pt. 001
This guide covers only the Brown Family Collections

Notes

  • "The Brown family collections date from the early 1700s to the early 1800s. The brothers James and Obadiah Brown, leading merchants of Providence, were among the first molasses and sugar merchants from that city to engage in the African slave trade. The second generation included James' sons, Moses Brown and John Brown.

    "After participating in at least one slaving venture in his youth, Moses Brown became a Quaker and a leader in the movement to outlaw 'that unrighteous traffic'. He was instrumental in the passages of the federal Slave Trade Act of 1794, which prohibited ships destined to transport slaves to any foreign country from outfitting American ports.

    "His brother, John, remained active in the business, advocating expansion of the slave trade while a member of the U.S. House of Representatives. John Brown became the first Rhode Islander tried under the 1794 legislation and suffered the forfeiture of his ship Hope in 1797." -- from the Scope and Content Note in the Publisher's Guide
  • John Brown is of no relation to the militant abolitionist (John Brown, 1800-1859), who advocated and practiced guerrilla warfare as a means to end slavery (and after whom many claim the Civil War Marching Song John Brown's Body - sharing the same tune as The Battle Hymn of the Republic - was named, although this has been disputed by historians).

The People's History: Working Class Autobiographies

This collection is based on The Autobiography of the Working Class: Annotated Critical Bibliography edited by John Burnett, David Vincent, and David Mayall (1984, Z7164 .L1 B95 1984t ref), and features a rich variety of lives and personal experiences from 1792-1920.

Part 1 contains 103 different works and extracts from 1792-1889, while Part 2 contains 65 works from 1890-1920. The autobiographies come from the British Library, and have been arranged chronologically in the collection by publishing date of the earliest known edition to exist in the Library. Each reel of microfilm includes a complete listing of all items along with an author index. There is also an author index at the back of the publisher's guide.

Location and Call Number: Stauffer Library Compact Shelving  Microfilm HD no.091 (34 reels)

Guide: Stauffer Library Reference HD8393.A1 P46 1993t Guide

R Collections

Records of the Worshipful Company of Stationers, 1554-1920

"The Records of the Stationers' Company are well known as the single most important source for the history of the English book trade. Dating back to the sixteenth century, this remarkable archive has withstood the ravages of time, neglect, and war to provide a unique insight into the day-to-day workings of the printing and publishing world." -- from the Chadwick-Healey Guide to the Collection.

The entire archive spans from the 16th century to 1920, and is arranged into 12 Parts over 115 reels of microfilm. The Index shows the arrangement of records and gives a reel-by-reel summary of available documents.

Location and Call Number: Stauffer Library Compact Shelving at Microfilm Z no.021

Guide: Stauffer Library Reference at Z329 .M94 1990

Rose Pastor Stokes Papers

Rose Pastor Stokes (1879-1933) wrote for the Jewish Daily News, from 1903 to 1905, and was known as a radical and a left-wing political activist. She corresponded with many eminent liberal figures and literary names in her time. She involved herself extensively in birth-control activities, opposed the United States' entry into WWI, and assisted in the organisation of the Communist Party of the U.S. In 1933, she died of cancer while undergoing treatment in a clinic in Germany.

The collection of her work (on 7 reels) is divided into five parts:

  • Correspondence - Consisting of General, Family, and Correspondence of Others
  • Writings - Jewish Daily News columns, an unfinished autobiography covering 1879-1905, and Minority Report to be appended to Program and Methods of Approach
  • Printed Material - Scrapbooks & Newspaper Clippings
  • Subject File - Miscellaneous writings, ephemera, articles, and photographs
  • Drawings - Illustrations in various mediums & photographs of unpublished drawings

Also included are photographs from the albums of James Graham Phelps Stokes and Rose Pastor Stokes, noted in the supplemental Appendix I of the Guide.

Location and Call Number: Stauffer Library Compact Shelving at Microfilm HX no.020

Guide: Stauffer Library Reference at HX84 .S86 A37 1970t

Notes

  • The Guide, compiled by Linda Wrigley of Yale University, is also on the first reel of the collection.
  • "Minority Report... is part of a report on the Negro Question in America presented to the 4th Comintern Congress, Patrograd (sic)-Moscow, 1922. Rose Pastor Stokes was [a] member of the reporting committee and worker under the nom-de-plume 'Sacha'." -- from the Yale University Guide to the Collection
  • For a detailed subject record of the collection, which includes the names of prominent peers, refer to the Yale University Library catalogue entry.