Skip to main content

Gender Studies

A selective guide to resources in Gender Studies at Queen's University Library

Conducting Research with Primary Sources

Primary sources are original sources, in which its witnesses or first recorders describe a time, person or event. They are the subject interpretation of a witness to an event and serve as the materials historians use to analyze the past. Primary sources can either be the original document or published at a later date in electronic, microfilm and printed collections.

Some types of primary sources include:

  •  published materials (books, magazine and newspaper articles) written at the particular time
  •  handwritten documents, such as diaries and journals
  •  speeches, interviews, letters
  •  memoirs and autobiographies
  •  manuscripts
  •  maps
  •  laws and court cases
  •  records of government agencies
  •  records of organizations
  •  public opinion polls
  •  fiction from a particular time and place
  •  photographs, audio recordings, movies and videos
  •  art, including paintings, prints and other media
  •  artifacts, such as furniture, clothing, tools, clothing, jewelry, pottery, etc.
  •  religious and philosophical texts

Digitized Primary Source Collections at Queen's Library

Queen's University Library subscribes to several collections of primary source material relevant to Gender Studies, including:
 
 
Includes diaries, correspondence, journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters and more..., from 1500-1900.
 
Historical documents to support study and analysis of gender, leisure and consumer culture.
 
Digitized facsimile of an early American women's magazine which was intended to entertain, inform, and educate the women of America.
 
An index to English language personal narratives.
 
Material from and about Mass Observation, the British social research organization.
 
A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. Collections include Women: Transnational Networks, which “focuses on issues at the intersection of gender and class from the late-eighteenth century to the era of suffrage in the early-twentieth century, all through a transnational perspective. The collection contains deep information on European and North American movements, but also expands its scope to include collections from other regions.”
 
North American Indian Thought and Culture
When complete, the database will represent the largest compilation ever created of biographical information on indigenous peoples from all areas of North America. With 100,000 pages of content, including biographies, autobiographies, oral histories, reference works, manuscripts, and photographs, the database presents the life stories of American Indians and Canadian First Peoples in their own words and through the words of others. Much of the material is previously unpublished, rare, or hard to find. The database is dedicated to telling the life stories of both the well-known historical figures such as Pocahontas and Sitting Bull, and also the lesser-known men and women whose day-to-day experiences give an equally valuable portrayal of Indian culture.
 
Plays, biographical, production, and theatrical information.
 
 
 
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.
 
Primary and secondary documents, images, a chronology of U.S. women's history and more...
 
 

Print Collections at Queen's

Jordan Special Collections

Queen's Archives

Stauffer Library:

Public Women, Public Words : A Documentary History of American Feminism (1997)
REF HQ1410.K444 1997
A 3 volume set that reproduces primary documents--speeches, essays, letters--charting the development of feminism. Periods covered: Beginnings to 1900; 1900-1960; 1960 to late 1990s.

Digital Collections from Other Libraries

Women Working, 1800-1930
Women Working, 1800–1930 is a digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. Working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are among the issues documented in this online research collection from Harvard University.

This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to Katrina Thomas's photographs of ethnic weddings from the late 20th century.

Archives

Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives
Located in Toronto, the Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives aspires to be a significant resource and catalyst for those who strive for a future world where lesbian, gay, bisexual and trans people are accepted, valued, and celebrated. 

Transgender Archives at the University of Victoria
The Transgender Archives at the University of Victoria is committed to the preservation of the history of pioneering activists, community leaders, and researchers who have contributed to the betterment of transgender and gender nonconforming people. The records of research related to trans and gender nonconforming people go back over 100 years, while records of activism by trans and gender nonconforming people span over 50 years and come from 18 countries across five continents. At over 320 linear feet / 98 linear meters, the collections comprise the largest trans archives in the world.