Skip to main content

Religious Studies & Theology

Bibles

A number of bibles in English and French from the King James and Douai to modern translations are located in the Reference Collection in the
BS185-192 range. For other editions and languages, check the library catalogue or ask in Special Collections.
 
TIP: To search for bibles in QCAT, search Full Catalogue by Series/Uniform Title, which serves to bring similar works together in one list.
e.g. enter bible english or bible o.t. or bible n.t. etc. for lists of more detailed bible categories.


Editions

 
The principle English editions are:
 
King James or Authorized Version (1611):
To search QCAT by Uniform Title: Bible. English. Authoriz[s]ed
e.g. The Holy Bible Containing the Old and New Testaments
REF BS185.19uu .O9 [Before 1950?]

King James Bible via Literature Online.
Searchable; part of LION. Under REFERENCE SHELF, change 'Select reference' to King James Bible.

American Revised or American Standard Versions (1901)
(a revision of the King James Version)
To search QCAT: Bible. English. American Revised
e.g. Holy Bible, containing the Old and New Testaments
Jordan Special Collections BS190 .A1 .1901 N
 
Revised Standard Version (1952):
(a revision of the American Standard Version)
To search QCAT: Bible. English. Revised Standard
e.g. The Holy Bible
REF BS191.A1 1952 N4
 
New American Standard Bible Version (1971):
(a revision of the American Standard Version)
To search QCAT: Bible. English. New American Standard
e.g. New American Standard Bible
REF BS195.N35 1977
 
New King James Version (1982):
To search QCAT: Bible. English. Authorized. 1982
e.g. Holy Bible: the New King James Version
REF BS185.1982 N37 1982
 
Douai-Rheims Version:
(Roman Catholic)
To search QCAT: Bible. English. Douai. or Bible. O.T. English. Douai.
 
New American Bible Version (1970):
(Roman Catholic)To search QCAT: Bible. English. New American
e.g. Saint Joseph edition of the New American Bible
BS192.3 .1970 N48 1970t
 
Jerusalem Bible Version (1966):
(Roman Catholic: translated on the basis of Greek and Hebrew texts)
To search QCAT: Bible. English. Jerusalem
e.g. The Jerusalem Bible
REF BS195.J4 1966
 
Codex Sinaiticus, a manuscript of the Christian Bible written in the middle of the fourth century, contains the earliest complete copy of the Christian New Testament. The hand-written text is in Greek.

Commentaries

 
Books of the Bible
REF BS540.B62 1989
 
Cambridge Companion to the Bible
REF BS475.2.C26 1997
 
Harper's Bible Commentary
REF BS491.2.H37 1988t
 
Encyclopedia of Biblical Theology: the Complete Sacramentum Verbi
REF BS440.B46713 1981
"An important work of Roman Catholic biblical scholarship, providing articles on theological significant words."
 
The Interpreter's Bible
REF BS491.I7
The King James and Revised Standard versions with general articles and introduction, exegesis, and exposition.
 
The New Jerome Biblical Commentary
REF BS491.2.N485 1989t
Commentaries by Roman Catholic scholars, with bibliographical references.
 
The New Oxford Annotated Bible with the Apocryphal / Deuterocanonical Books
REF BS191.5.A1 1991
 
 
Signed articles cover "key persons, places, events, concepts, institutions and realities of biblical times". Bibliographic citations included. Along with a short general bibliography at the end, maps and an index are included".

Dictionaries

 
 
The New International Dictionary of Biblical Archaeology
REF BS622.N48 1983
Has "brief definitions of terms and concise signed articles on persons, places, deities relevant to the study of Biblical archaeology". Includes bibliographies.

Judaism

Hebrew Bible
(Tanakh)
To search QCAT, search Full Catalogue by Series/Uniform Title: Bible. O.T. Hebrew
e.g. [Tanakh: Torah, Nevi'im Ketuvim] = Tanach: the Torah, Prophets, Writings: the Twenty-four Books of the Bible Newly Translated and Annotated
REF BS895.S77 1997 2nd ed.
e.g. [Tanakh] = JPS Hebrew-English Tanakh: the Traditional Hebrew Text and the New JPS Translation
REF BS895.J4 1999
 
Torah
(The Five Books of Moses: Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy.
Also called the Chumash and the Pentateuch.)
To search QCAT: Bible. O.T. Pentateuch or Bible. O.T. Pentateuch. English
or Bible. O.T. Pentateuch-Commentaries
e.g. The Torah: a Modern Commentary
(English translation of The Torah with Commentaries)
REF BS1225.3 .P55 1981
 
Talmud
(Gemara or Shas: a record of rabbinic discussions pertaining to Jewish law, ethics, customs and history)
To search QCAT: Talmud
e.g. Babylonian Talmud
BM499.5 E5 1961
18 volume set containing the English translation of the entire Babylonian Talmud
e. g. Talmud: the Steinsaltz Edition: a Reference Guide
REF BM499.5 E4 1989t
 
 
This provides the Bible in Hebrew and English, Mishne Torah in Hebrew and English, Mishna, Tosefta, Talmud Bavli, Talmud Yerushalmi, Targum Onqelos, and Tiqqun Qore'im. Search engines are provided for each.

Eastern

Sacred Books of the East
BL1010.S2
The SBE series, comprising fifty volumes, was issued by the Oxford University Press between 1879 and 1910. It includes translations of key sacred texts of Hinduism, Buddhism, Taoism, Confucianism, Zoroastrianism, Jainism, and Islam. Table of Contents.
 
Internet Sacred Text Archive:
Buddhism  Confucianism   Hinduism  I Ching   Jainism  Taoism

Islam

Editions of the Koran can be found in the book collection in the BP100 - 109 range. Selected versions include:
 
Holy Qurán: English Translation of the Meanings and Commentary
REF BP100 1989t
 
An Interpretation of the Qur'an: English Translation of the Meanings
REF BP109 2002
 
Koran Interpreted: a Translation
BP109.A7 1996
 
Sacred Books of the East
BL1010.S2