Skip to main content

FILM 335: Culture and Technology

Why Use an Index?

Use an article index to find journal articles on your topic, as well as film criticism and other materials related to film and media studies. 

Articles are smaller in scope than books and can therefore focus on more particular aspects of a given topic. Since articles are faster to produce and publish, the most up-to-date research often appears in this form.

Some will contain the full text of journals but if the full text is not readily available, click on Get It Link Icon.

If the "Get It" link does not find anything, don't assume that the Library does not hold the item.  A search in QCAT for the title of the journal (or book) might find it. 

If clicking on a full text link does not take you directly to the article, you will need to navigate a bit to get the article you want - depending on the resource provider.

Film Indexes and Databases

Reviews, production, and biographical information.
 
The AFI Catalog lists films, with plot summaries, filmographic information, and more ...
 
Film and Television Literature Index
Online counterpart of Film Literature Index.

Other Relevant Databases

The subject matter of this course crosses disciplines, covering areas such as sociology, anthropology, politics, etc.  Deptending on your chosen topic, the following journal article databases may prove useful in your research.

Academic Search Complete

JSTOR

Project Muse

Sociological Abstracts

Summon

Evaluate Articles

Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.

But not all journal articles will be useful for your essay so you will need to evaluate before you use them. 

Consult our guide, Distinguishing Scholarly from Non Scholarly Periodicals, to discover the difference.