Skip to main content

Reading Michael Ondaatje

Selected Reference Resources

Specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries and other resources are useful for obtaining background information on a topic, in addition to helping you focus your topic and identify the main concepts, terms and keywords that describe your topic.Many have helpful bibliographies that will point you to the key scholars in the field.

Check the Reference Resources found on the Canadian Literature subject guide as well as the following resources:

Oxford Reference Online

The Cambridge History of Canadian Literature 
PS8061 .C345 2009

Dictionary of Literary Biography: Canadian Writers since 1960

Profiles in Canadian Literature 
Profiles in Canadian Literature  is an collection of essays about various Canadian writers. Each entry describes the Canadian author in four sections: a brief essay about the writer's work; a chronology of the works; comments by the writer, and comments by other critics. At the end of each entry, a list of the author's primary works and criticisms are presented. Michael Ondaatje can be found in volume 8.

 

Front cover of Dictionary of Literary Biography

Dictionary of Literary Biography (series)
REF Call Number varies
 
A collection of essays on the lives and careers of authors from all eras and genres as well as critical responses to their work. To locate the individual volumes of this multi-volume set, do a title or series title search in QCAT for Dictionary of Literary Biography.
 
The essay on Michael Ondaatje can be found in the volume: Canadian Writers Since 1960 (DLB v. 60)