Horn music
Solo horn
M80 - M84
Horn and piano
M255 - M259 (including transcriptions)
Horn duets
M288 - M289
Horn and orchestra
M1028 - M1029 (full score - piano reduction)
Horn and string orchestra
M1028 - M1029 (full score - piano reduction)
Bibliography/Repertoire lists
ML128 .H67 (Horn)
ML128. B73 (Brass instruments)
M1028. W5 (Wind instruments)
History/construction of the Horn
ML955 - ML956
Techniques: studies and methods (Horn family)
MT420 - MT432
Floorplan: Stauffer 2nd floor
Items are arranged according to the LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION scheme: Class M for Music and Books on music.
Generally, items are shelved alphabetically in author order within each subject class number. Class M (MUSIC) consists of 3 main sections:
Also sprach Arnold Jacobs : a developmental guide for brass wind musicians by
In addition to being an outstanding musician, Arnold Jacobs undoubtedly was the most influential brass teacher of the second half of the twentieth century. Countless brass (and other) musicians from all over the world traveled to Chicago to study with this master. Additionally, Mr. Jacobs also gave master classes that were popular with students, teachers and professionals in many different locations. Even if it were all known, it would be impossible to reduce to writing all of the advice Arnold Jacobs gave to thousands of students over a period of almost 70 years. Nevertheless, this book is an attempt to preserve in writing, by topic, the common ideas and variations of those ideas from which so many musicians have benefited. Bruce Nelson´s book comes in six chapters. Each chapter deals with one central aspect of brass playing
Blow your own horn! : horn heresies by
Fergus McWilliam has been a member of the Berlin Philharmonic since 1985 and was a founding member of the Berlin Philharmonic Wind Quintet in 1988. He has spent the last twenty years touring the world with the Berlin Philharmonic and has made over a dozen recordings with his ensemble. During his career, he has performed with many of the major conductors of our times, including Herbert von Karajan, Claudio Ababado, Sir Simon Rattle, Leonard Bernstein, Carlos Kleiber, Seiji Ozawa, Pierre Boulez, James Levine, Daniel Barenboim and more. In addition, McWilliam also founded the Horns of Berlin Philharmonic and has helped re-establish the Winds of Berlin Philharmonic. His solo and chamber music activities continue to take him throughout Europe, the Americas and the Far East. Fergus McWilliam is also an internationally esteemed and sought-after teacher. He continues to give master classes at leading music schools in many countries, including the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra Academy, the Hans-Eisler Musikhochschule in Berlin, the Royal Academy of Music and the Guildhall School in London, the Paris Conservatoire, the Tokyo University of Fine Arts, the Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama in Glasgow, the Venezuela Youth Music programme and more. Blow your OWN Horn is Fergus McWilliams 'take’ on horn playing and more generally on music education. Written in a very spirited style, the book covers all aspects of playing and the profession, including, practical elements such as: auditions, embouchure, breathing, exercises. In addition, McWilliam explores topics such as: mind games, attitude, strategies, relativity, under pressure, why do we need teachers and much more
The Cambridge Companion to Brass Instruments by
This Companion covers many diverse aspects of brass instruments and in such detail. It provides an overview of the history of brass instruments, and their technical and musical development. Although the greatest part of the volume is devoted to the western art music tradition, with chapters covering topics from the medieval to the contemporary periods, there are important contributions on the ancient world, non-western music, vernacular and popular traditions and the rise of jazz. Despite the breadth of its narrative, the book is rich in detail, with an extensive glossary and bibliography. The editors are two of the most respected names in the world of brass performance and scholarship, and the list of contributors includes the names of many of the world's most prestigious scholars and performers on brass instruments.
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Brass Instruments by
Some thirty-two experts from fifteen countries join three of the world's leading authorities on the design, manufacture, performance and history of brass musical instruments in this first major encyclopaedia on the subject. It includes over one hundred illustrations, and gives attention to every brass instrument which has been regularly used, with information about the way they are played, the uses to which they have been put, and the importance they have had in classical music, sacred rituals, popular music, jazz, brass bands and the bands of the military. There are specialist entries covering every inhabited region of the globe and essays on the methods that experts have used to study and understand brass instruments. The encyclopaedia spans the entire period from antiquity to modern times, with new and unfamiliar material that takes advantage of the latest research. From Abblasen to Zorsi Trombetta da Modon, this is the definitive guide for students, academics, musicians and music lovers.
The Early Horn by
This introduction to the early horn provides a historical account of the instrument's development during the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries as well as a practical guide to playing techniques and principles of interpretation. The book aims to help performers to play in an historically appropriate style and to guide listeners towards a clearer understanding of the issues which affected the way the horn was played during the period. It includes chapters on the historical background of the instrument, its design and development, and choice of instrument today. A series of case studies which include the music of Bach, Haydn, Mozart, Beethoven, Schubert, Schumann and Brahms, will help performers to make a well-grounded, period interpretation of major works from the horn repertoire. Complemented by an extensive bibliography, this accessible guide will appeal to players of all levels.
A guide to solo French horn music by Canadian composers by The horn by 
Horn by
Barry Tuckwell was one of the world's leading horn virtuosos. Here, he tells the history of the horn, deals with the difficulties of building and maintaining the instrument, and provides useful advice on all aspects of learning, practising and playing for the beginner, amateur and teacher.
Horns and Trumpets of the World by
Humanity has blown horns and trumpets of various makes and models, lengths and diameters since prehistoric times. In Horns and Trumpets of the World, the eminent scholar Jeremy Montagu surveys the vast range in time and type of this instrument that has accompanied everything in human history from the war cry to the formal symphony, from the hunting call to the modern jazz performance. No work on this topic offers as much detail or so many illustrations--over 150, in fact--of this remarkable instrument. Montagu's examination starts with horns constructed from such unusual materials as seaweed, cane, and bamboo, and continues the journey of exploration through those of shell, wood, ivory, and metal. The chronological scope of Horns and Trumpets of the World is equally vast: it looks at instruments of the Bible and from the Bronze and Iron Ages respectively before diving headlong into those from the Medieval, Renaissance, Baroque, and Classical periods, and, following the Industrial Revolution, those that have appeared in the modern era. Drawing on the many instruments from the author's own extensive collection, Montagu offers details, including measurements, at levels rarely seen in other surveys of this world of instrumentation. Horns and Trumpet of the World should appeal to not only scholars and collectors, but professional brass players and manufacturers, as well as museums and institutions with a vested interest in our musical heritage.
Horn Technique by
The first edition of this book was published in 1962 and quickly established itself as the classic guide to all aspects of horn-playing, with chapters on tone-production, exercises, legato and staccato playing, and the art of practising. For this new edition the author has greatly enlargedthe Repertoire List, which gives details of over 1,000 pieces from the solo, chamber, and orchestral repertoires which include one or more horns. The author draws attention to key works in each genre. There are also a number of corrections and up-datings throughout the text and a new prefaceoutlining recent developments in the horn world.
Soloistic English Horn Literature (1736-1984) by
New York Times critic Harold Schonberg once commented that solo concerti for the English horn are as rare as fish with fur. Indeed, the common impression is that works composed specifically for the instrument are few and far between . However, William McMullen's thematic catalogue admirably refutes this notion, with 200 works that are originally written for a soloistic English horn; works that allow the player an opportunity to illustrate the instrument's unique expressive qualities in a solo setting. Each entry in the catalogue is divided into two main parts - one dealing with information about the composer, and the other supplying details about the work (instrumentation; date and place of composition/publication; numbers, titles and timings of movements; first performance dates; comments from the composer; and a description of any unusual technical demands upon the soloist). Thematic incipits are also included.
Teaching Brass by
This unique combination of exercises, instruction, and reference material helps music education students learn to play and teach brass instruments, and is a resource students can use after they move into their teaching careers. Written by five brass players, Teaching Brass addresses the problems of learning and teaching the five principle brass instruments from the viewpoint of an expert teacher on each specific instrument.
