Cello music
Solo cello
M50 - M54 (including transcriptions)
Cello and piano
M229 - M236 (including transcriptions)
Cello duets
M286 - M287
String trios
M349 - M353 (collections - separate works - arrangements)
String quartets (collections - separate works - arrangements)
M450 - M454
Cello with orchestra
M1016- M1017 (full score - piano reduction)
Cello with string orchestra
M1116 - M1117 (full score - piano reduction)
Bibliography/Repertoire lists
ML128 .V5
History/construction of the cello
ML910 - ML911, ML915 (music and playing)
Techniques: studies and methods
MT300 - MT318
Floorplan: Stauffer 2nd floor
Items are arranged according to the LIBRARY OF CONGRESS CLASSIFICATION scheme: Class M for Music and Books on music.
Generally, items are shelved alphabetically in author order within each subject class number. Class M (MUSIC) consists of 3 main sections:
The Baroque Cello Revival by
This resource considers the Baroque cello's revival as part of the period instrument movement from the viewpoints of over forty cellists from three generations and four luthiers who have worked on period cellos. What emerges is a nuanced and detailed picture of the cello in the past and present and the varied instruments now played under the label "Baroque cello." Period instruments played with appropriate techniques have become a major presence in classical music in recent decades. For the cello, which changed substantially between the end of the sixteenth and early eighteenth centuries, it is challenging to describe specific traits for certain time periods, let alone how it was played in those periods. By chronicling the searches of over forty top cellists in England, Europe, and North America, the author goes far in revealing the great variety of forms that exist. This is the first study in which the revival of a single period instrument has been considered in such qualified detail and will be of great interest to musicologists, luthiers, and anyone interested in string history.
A Cellist's Companion: A Comprehensive Catalogue of Cello Literature by
The first complete catalog of cello music!! The paperback version is published by Lulu.com. A hard-cover version is available at www.cellocompanion.com.Over 35 years of compilation has resulted in the very first comprehensive catalogue of cello music, including approximately 45,000 titles by 15,000 composers. Listed alphabetically by composer are works for cello solo, cello and piano, cello and orchestra, duos, cello ensemble music, solo cello with chamber ensemble, two or more soloists and orchestra, cello and voice, methods and studies. An index by instrumentation is also included. This unique project to compile all music ever written for cello solo - published or unpublished, in print or out of print - is a reference work that will immediately become every cellist's companion.
Cello, Bow and You by
Written for the cellist looking for an approach that demystifies cello playing, Cello, Bow and You is an innovative text in the field of string pedagogy written by a 40+ year veteran of the New York Philharmonic Orchestra and certified teacher of the Alexander Technique. Author EvangelineBenedetti has a unique voice and approach, and invites cellists of all levels to explore, make discoveries and organically internalize technique. Benedetti's approach compliments the work that students do with their teachers by encouraging them to be more aware of themselves and responsive tointernal and external guidance. The book is organized as its playful title implies. In the Cello and Bow sections, Benedetti explores the natural physical and mechanical properties of the instrument and bow, the laws of movement, the influence of gravity, and the dynamic interaction between them. The "You," or the one who plays,is explored from the point of view of the player's musical conception, anatomy, and principles of movement based on the Alexander Technique and bio-mechanics.Cello, Bow and You allows students and professionals access to Benedetti's vast performance and teaching experience. She has pioneered an approach to playing that is a synthesis of the cellist's musical thought, the knowledge of the dynamic properties of the instrument and bow, and the ability tomove effectively according to the mechanics of the human body. The synergy of these elements leads to physically healthy playing and frees players to be musically expressive. Written in engaging, informal prose, the book is a must-read for cellists and cello teachers - beginning, intermediate, orprofessional.
Cello Secrets : over 100 performance strategies for the advanced cellist by
Cello Secrets: Over 100 Performance Strategies for the Advanced Cellist explains the most helpful insider techniques cellists use to master the instrument. With each technique carefully explained and illustrated, the book is a helpful resource for all cello players, from talented teenagers to conservatory preprofessionals. The book provides insightful information to demystify cello technique with practical tips and troubleshooting advice. Coauthored by Brian Hodges and Jo Nardolillo, Cello Secrets presents the strategies, tricks, and techniques that are taught by leading pedagogues in master classes and seminars around the country. Cello Secrets is an invaluable reference for private teachers as well as students and will find a home as a textbook for cello pedagogy courses. Book jacket.
The Integrated String Player by
Pedro de Alcantara's The Integrated String Player: Embodied Vibration is a practical guide for all string players: violinists and violists, cellists and bassists, but also gamba players and anyone who makes music drawing a bow across a string. Dozens of exercises, supported by a dedicatedwebsite with 80 video clips, cover all the basics of string playing, including left-hand articulation, vibrato, changes of position, double-stopping, sound production, string crossings, and many other techniques. Each exercise, however simple or complex, can become a meditation with the goal ofintegrating the musical, technical, and metaphysical aspects of a player's practice.Part I is devoted to the fundamentals of coordination, rhythm, and listening in depth. Part II focuses on the left hand, with an emphasis on healthy gestures that are charged with musicality and meaning. Part III covers the bowing arm, exploring innovative concepts such as expressive gesticulation,mechanical intelligence, and the use of the bow as the player's voice, both literally and symbolically. Part IV covers the integration of analytical thought and sensorial practice, providing an extensive study of the harmonic series, the circle of fifths, Tartini tones, and many other sonic aspectsthat are essential to a string player's musical freedom. In addition, the conversational, linguistic, compositional, and improvisatory dimensions of string playing are discussed and supported by multiple practical exercises.The Integrated String Player is addressed to players of all abilities and from all aesthetic backgrounds: students and professionals, teachers and performers, classically trained musicians and jazz players, chamber-music players and orchestral players.
One Hundred Years of Violoncello by
This is the first book to address the full range of performance issues for the cello from the Baroque to the early Romantic period. The development of playing techniques and stylistic transitions are traced regionally through a comparison of Italian, French, German, English, and East European performance traits. Through a close study of contemporary violoncello methods, music, early instruments, periodicals, diaries, letters and pictures, Walden provides a cohesive overview which examines construction methods for instruments and bows, fingering and bowing techniques, special effects and ornamentation, accompanying skills and the stylistic preferences of the most famous soloists. Richly illustrated with over 300 music examples, plates and figures, this book provides playing instructions which can easily be applied by modern players to their own performance of period music.
Playing the Cello, 1780-1930 by
This innovative study of nineteenth-century cellists and cello playing shows how simple concepts of posture, technique and expression changed over time, while acknowledging that many different practices co-existed. By placing an awareness of this diversity at the centre of an historical narrative, George Kennaway has produced a unique cultural history of performance practices. In addition to drawing upon an unusually wide range of source materials - from instructional methods to poetry, novels and film - Kennaway acknowledges the instability and ambiguity of the data that supports historically informed performance. By examining nineteenth-century assumptions about the very nature of the cello itself, he demonstrates new ways of thinking about historical performance today. Kennaway's treatment of tone quality and projection, and of posture, bow-strokes and fingering, is informed by his practical insights as a professional cellist and teacher. Vibrato and portamento are examined in the context of an increasing divergence between theory and practice, as seen in printed sources and heard in early cello recordings. Kennaway also explores differing nineteenth-century views of the cello's gendered identity and the relevance of these cultural tropes to contemporary performance. By accepting the diversity and ambiguity of nineteenth-century sources, and by resisting oversimplified solutions, Kennaway has produced a nuanced performing history that will challenge and engage musicologists and performers alike.
String Quartets by
This research guide is an annotated bibliography of sources dealing with the string quartet. This second edition is organized as in the original publication (chapters for general references, histories, individual composers, aspects of performance, facsimiles and critical editions, and miscellaneous topics) and has been updated to cover research since publication of the first edition. Listings in the previous volume have been updated to reflect the burgeoning interest in this genre (social aspects, newly issued critical editions, doctoral dissertations). It also offers commentary on online links, databases, and references.
