Health Canada
Health Canada
Complementary and Alternative Medicine for Health Professionals by
Highly researched and referenced, Complementary and Alternative Medicine for Health Professionals: A Holistic Approach to Consumer Health educates students about the many complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) modalities that are available, in addition to the more traditional methods that exist. Early chapters provide an overview of both traditional and alternative medicine, scientific method and steps in scientific research, and look at the cost of health care in the U.S. Later chapters introduce students to integrative medicine and provide a thorough overview of CAM practices employed today. Topics that are covered include acupuncture, meditation, herbals and aromatherapy. By reading this text, students will become astute at distinguishing among those traditional and CAM health practices that are helpful, those that have been scientifically tested, and those that may offer no benefit. Case studies throughout the text give students an opportunity to apply material and ideas to real life situations.
Complementary and Alternative Medicine for Prostate and Urologic Health by
Complementary & Alternative Medicine (CAM) for Prostate/Urologic Health is designed to capture and clinically review the comprehensive database of clinical research articles that support and do not support the utilization of a variety of dietary supplements and other complementary medicines that physicians are exposed to in their daily practice.nbsp;This is a critical distinction between this book and any other CAM Complementary & Alternative Medicine for Prostate and Urologic Health is designed to capture and clinically review the comprehensive database of clinical research articles that support and do not support the utilization of a variety of dietary supplements and other complementary medicines that physicians are exposed to in their daily practice.nbsp;This is a critical distinction between this book and any other Complementary & Alternative Medicine (CAM) books published to date. Each section of the book provides an easy to reference guide into the topic of interest for the individual that works in urology.nbsp;The various sub-specialty groups in urology are adequately represented, which allows for a physician to rapidly and thoroughly investigate their topic of interest regardless of whether it is fertility, bladder cancer, or prostate disease. Rather than having to sort through the now thousands of articles published yearly on CAM in medicine, this volume focuses first on the specialty and secondarily how it compares to the overall CAM literature. Each chapter includes a summary page that will allow the physician a rapid review of the subject with a patient, colleague or student. The practical nature of this book in urology also cannot be overstated.nbsp;Chapters include a general overview of the CAM agent, whether or not it has data in medicine and urology, and a list of potential drug interactions and specific clinical scenarios where it can be utilized or discouraged in the specialty.nbsp;Complementary & Alternative Medicine for Prostate and Urologic Health represents a gold standard text for use in teaching, not only for the students interested in the urologic field but for all current urologic health providers.
Essential Natural Herbs and Supplements by
Essential Herbs and Natural Supplements is an evidence-based quick reference guide. This go-to resource is essential for safe and effective clinical recommendations of herbal medicines and natural supplements. It provides current, evidence-based monographs on the 50 most commonly used herbs, nutrients and food supplements.
Guide to Integrative Pediatrics for the Healthcare Professional by
In response to the rise in chronic medical conditions--and the growing use of complementary and alternative therapies--among pediatric and adolescent patients, healthcare practitioners are taking a serious look at pediatric integrative medicine (PIM). Although it dovetails with current concepts of preventive medicine, wellness, and patient control, PIM is still an evolving field with its own particular challenges and opportunities. A Guide to Integrative Pediatrics for the Healthcare Professional explores its subject through the more familiar lens of integrative medicine. This concise comprehensive resource synthesizes the knowledge base on a range of therapies commonly associated with PIM, such as acupuncture, herbal remedies, clinical hypnosis, yoga, homeopathy, and therapeutic massage, with findings on their effective use with children. Case examples illustrate uses of PIM modalities with allopathic medicine to treat young patients at various developmental stages, and the authors pinpoint safety and appropriateness concerns, answer licensing questions, and note clinical areas requiring further study. The wide-ranging information contained here will help support interest in PIM at the research, training, and practice levels. Features of the Guide: An introduction to basic concepts in PIM. Trends in IM/PIM education. A survey of complementary and alternative therapies, including biologically-based, body-based, mind-body, energy-based, and alternative whole systems. Current evidence for IM in treating common pediatric conditions. The future of integrative pediatrics. References and links for further information. Offering a front-row seat to the continued expansion of the field, A Guide to Integrative Pediatrics for the Healthcare Professional is a salient text not only for pediatricians but for all healthcare practitioners tasked with improving children's wellbeing.
The H.E.R.B.A.L. Guide: Dietary Supplement Resources for the Clinician by
The H.E.R.B.A.L. Guide will greatly assist clinicians in counseling patients about use of herbal and dietary supplements and integrating these supplements into the comprehensive clinical management of common conditions. The opening section offers practical advice on the clinician-patient dialogue about supplements. Subsequent chapters discuss key issues regarding labeling, dosing, regulation, interactions and reactions, efficacy, clinical trials, and the role of each member of the health care team in management of supplements. Major sections present case studies of patients with common conditions and quick reference guides to the use of natural medicines in clinical management of specific disorders.
Pathways to Illness, Pathways to Health by
This book, designed for professionals, introduces a psychobiological model for understanding the paths that lead people to illness and provides recommendations for alterations of maladaptive pathways so that health is regained. Research findings are incorporated to identify causal variables for illness that can be targets for change. Evidence based recommendations for healthy behaviors and therapies are described. Throughout the book, the authors emphasize recognition of turning points on the path to illness that, through informed decision making and implementation of behavioral change, can be re-directed to pathways to health. This book presents case material to illustrate the directions that lead people to illness or to health. The pathways metaphor provides an organizing force, both in addressing variables contributing to illness onset, and in identifying interventions to restore health. This approach will guide the clinician to understanding how people become ill and the types of interventions that are appropriate for stress related illnesses. The clinician will also become better informed about ways to help clients make better decisions, mobilize clients' survival skills, and implement an interactive model of care. The book includes chapters on stress-related illnesses with high prevalence in today's society. For each illness, the genetic-psychobiological etiology is explored with enough detail so that the clinician understands the best method of patient assessment and treatment. One of the strengths of the book is the step-wise system of interventions that are applied to the stress-related illnesses. Beginning with re-establishment of normal daily psychobiological rhythms and continuing to evidence based state of the art interventions, the professional is presented with detailed intervention plans. For example, the section on "Applications to common illnesses: metabolic disorders of behavior: diabetes, hypertension, and hyperlipidemia" considers the confluence of genetics, behavior, and maladaptive mind body interactions to produce the metabolic syndrome. Then the personal and professional assessments are described to establish the baseline for recommending treatment while fully engaging the patient. Finally, multilevel interventions are formulated for these disorders. The plan begins with clinician guided self care recommendations to re-establish the normal rhythm of appetite and satiety. The next level of interventions consists of skill building techniques, such as relaxation and imagery. Lastly, psychotherapy and advanced applied psychophysiological interventions are detailed. Case examples are used throughout to illustrate the pathways to illness, the turning points, and the pathways to health. From the patients' viewpoints, the pathways metaphor is a motivator. The patient is guided to understand the paths that led to illness. Subsequently, the patient becomes empowered by the pathways framework to begin to make choices that lead to health.
Therapeutic Use of Ayahuasca by
This book presents a series of perspectives on the therapeutic potential of the ritual and clinical use of the Amazonian hallucinogenic brew ayahuasca in the treatment and management of various diseases and ailments, especially its role in psychological well-being and substance dependence. Biomedical and anthropological data on the use of ayahuasca for treating depression, PTSD, and substance dependence in different settings, such as indigenous contexts, neo-shamanic rituals, contemporary therapeutic circles, and in ayahuasca religions, in both South and North America, are presented and critiqued. Though multiple anecdotal reports on the therapeutic use of ayahuasca exist, there has been no systematic and dense reflection on the topic thus far. The book brings the therapeutic use of ayahuasca to a new level of public examination and academic debate. The texts in this volume stimulate discussion on methodological, ethical, and political aspects of research and will enhance the development of this emergent field of studies.
