Skip to main content

HIST 329: Britain Since 1851

Selected Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

The Cambridge Companion to Modern British Culture
DA110 .C253 2010

The Cambridge Social History of Britain 1750-1950 (3 volumes)
HN385 .C14 1990

A Companion to Nineteenth-Century Britain

This 14 volume set is the "most important general modern history" which covers the period from the Renaissance to 1945.
 
With over 4000 A-Z entries, this dictionary offers a wealth of fact and insight into 2000 years of British life - the people, the places, the events, and the social, economic and cultural changes that have influenced the way we live now.
 
 
 
The "History" collection of reference works is one component in the Oxford Reference Online database, a huge and comprehensive resource which contains the full text of over 120 dictionaries, companions and other reference publications covering the complete subject spectrum.
 
Encyclopedia of the Victorian Era
REF DA550.E527 204 (4 volumes)
 
Victorian Britain: an Encyclopedia
REF DA550.V53
Provides an "overview and point of departure" for the study of "persons, events, institutions, topics, groups, and artifacts in Great Britain between 1837 and 1901". It is arranged alphabetically with signed articles that have bibliographies.
 
The Longman Companions to History
Consult QCAT under the series title (see above title) for individual call numbers. Wealth of chronological, statistical and tabular information on a major area of historical study and are written by a leading scholar in the field.

Background Info

Reference resources are a great place to begin your research.  They can help you define terms as well as to find basic information about a topic, a chronicle of its history, theories, key people and sometimes a bibliography of additional sources. In addition they can  help you focus your topic and identify the main concepts, terms and keywords that describe your topic

Encyclopedias and dictionaries provide a general overview of  a subject and information such as names, dates, and facts. They also provide historical and political events that may have impacted a person's work and the society and culture in which they lived and worked.

There are many different types of reference sources, which include dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, bibliographies, handbooks, style manuals to name a few.

undefined

Entry for Suffrage has five references, the first one is an account by Helen Blackburns, Women's Suffrage written in 1902.