Skip to main content

HIST 329: Britain Since 1851

Bibliographies

Consult bibliographies to find a comprehensive list of sources on a specific topic or a selective list of key works on a topic. To find out what bibliographies the Library has, do a keyword or subject search in QCAT.
 
Great Britain--History--Bibliography
Imperialism--Bibliography
 
Annual bibliography of British and Irish History
REF Z2041.A56t (1975-2002)
 
Covers history of the British Isles, and of the British Empire and Commonwealth from 55BC to the present. Indexes books, articles in collective volumes, and about 700 journals.
 
Bibliography of British Economic and Social History
Z7165.G8 C46
"A select bibliographic guide to books and periodical articles in England". Arranged in four chronological periods: 1066-1300, 1300-1500, 1500-1700, 1700-1970. Separate sections for Wales, Scotland and Ireland.
 
Bibliography of British History...series
To 1485. REF Z2017.B5
1485 - 1603. Tudor England. REF Z2018.R28 1959
1603 - 1714. Stuart Period. REF Z2018.D25 1970
1714 - 1789. Eighteenth Century. REF Z2018.P37 1951
1789 - 1851. REF Z2019.B76
1851 - 1914. REF Z2019 .H35
1914 - 1989. REF Z2020 .R63 1996
These bibliographies cover "all aspects of history: political, constitutional, legal, ecclesiastical, economic, military, cultural, and social". Includes books, journal articles, pamphlets and government documents. "Indispensable for the student of history".
 
British Economic and Social History: A Bibliographical Guide
REF Z7165.G8C46 1996
 
British Women's History: A Bibliographical Guide
REF Z7964.G7H36 1995
 
Listing of what has been written about Irish history from earliest times to the present. It lists writings on Irish history published since the 1930s, with selected material published in earlier decades.
 
Search over 100,000 records listing books, articles, and dissertation abstracts published from 1945 to 2002 on every field of nineteenth-century British studies
 
Women in English Social History: 1800-1914: A Guide to Research
REF Z7964.G7K36 1987 (3 vols.)
 
Women in Western European History
REF Z7961.F74 1982
Two volume set which lists references to books and journal articles. Arrangement is by period, further divided by country and then by subject. Volume 1 is from antiquity to the French Revolution. Volume 2 is the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
 
Writings on British History
DA2.W7
"A bibliography of books and articles on the history of Great Britain from about 450 A.D. to 1939, published during the years 1901-1974, with an appendix containing a select list of publications in these years on British history since 1914".

Oxford Bibliographies offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies which will help you to narrow the vast number of citations to the best scholarship on a given topic.

Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.

Although there is not a separate guide for British History, there are articles on the British colonial rule in Sub-Saharan Africa, The Cold War, Social movements, to name few.