Skip to main content

HIST 329: Britain Since 1851

Finding Primary Sources

There is an abundance of primary source material in the Library. The form will vary from topic to topic.  It may be a diary correpondence, letters, newspaper accoints, a law, a debate in Parliament, editorials, a photo, etc. from the period of study, as well as electronic, microfilm, and printed collections of these documents published at a later date.
 
For detailed information on finding primary sources in the humanities and social sciences go to the Primary Sources guide.
 
Primary source materials and related websites can be freely reached on the web as well as the subscription databases to which the Library pays.
 
Selected databases that will help you locate primary source material include: 
  • General Collections
  • News and Magazines
  • Government Documents
  • Digital Subject Specific Collections
  • Images
  • Letters and Diaries
  • Other Collections of Note

General Collections 

 
With a single federated search access 11 digital collections.
 
 

News and Magazines

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Government Documents

 
 
 
 

Digital Subject Specific Collections

 
 
 
 
 

Images

 
 

Letters and Diaries

Other Collections of Note

Searches catalogs and inventories from over 130 repositories in England.
 
 
 
 
 

Searching QCAT

You can locate items in the library by searching QCAT by doing a keyword or subject search and then adding one of the special subject terms to your search:

  • correspondence
  • diaries
  • early works to 1800
  • interviews
  • pamphlets
  • personal narratives
  • sources
  • trials

Also try searching for keywords, such as memoirs or documents. For example:

history and victorian and britain and sources  [keyword boolean]

Women--Great Britain--History--19th century--Sources  [subject heading]