Skip to main content

Canadian Literature

Primary Texts

General information about primary sources.
 
Full text collection of 3000 books and pamphlets documenting Canadian history and literature.
 
Features poetry written by contemporary and 19th-century poets. Also includes author biographies and links to Canadian poetry journals, magazines, and presses.
 
Canadian Poetry: An Electronic Resource (University of Western Ontario)
Scholarly editions of early Canadian long poems, including full-text editions of the work of the Confederation poets. Also includes critical studies of Canadian poetry.
 
Canadian Poetry Archive (Library and Archives Canada)
A searchable database of poems from over 100 early English- and French-language Canadian poets, digitized from the collections of the Library and Archives Canada. Also contains some biographical information.
 
Contains classic out-of-copyright texts of French-Canadian literature in rtf (rich-text) format. Browsable by author.
 
Digitized 19th-century French-Canadian texts in pdf format from the Bibliothèque nationale du Québec.
 
Manuscript collections and biographical information on Canadian writers Marie-Claire Blais, Roger Lemelin, Carol Shields, Michel Tremblay, Jane Urquhart, and Elizabeth Smart. These e-collections include typescripts, correspondence, journals, notebooks, and miscellany.

Special Collections

Botanical illustration and text from "Canadian Wild Flowers" by Catherine Parr Trail

The Edith and Lorne Pierce Collection of Canadiana is the centrepiece of the Queen's University Library.

The collection has resources for Canadian historical and literary studies pre- and post-Confederation. The collection is searable through QCAT and is located in the W.D. Jordan Special Collections Library (Douglas Library).