Skip to main content

Canadian Literature

Websites

Canada's Early Women Writers (Simon Fraser University)
Presents biographical and publication information for more than 470 women who lived in Canada or wrote about Canada, and authored an English-language book or pamphlet of fiction or poetry that was published before 1940. Includes titles of publications and references to archival resources.
 
The Canadian Literature Archive (University of Manitoba)
Contains information on Canadian writers, literary organizations, and publications; includes the full-text of several out-of-print, out-of-copyright works of Canadian literature.

 
Features "selected poems from over 100 early English- and French-language Canadian poets. Digitized from public anthologies found in the National Library of Canada's rich literature collection, the poems represent some of Canada's most notable poetry from the 19th and early 20th centuries."
 
Canadian Theatre Encyclopedia (Athabasca University)
A database of current information about Canadian actors, playwrights, directors, producers, designers, composers, theatre organizations, and plays.
 
Exhibition by Library and Archives Canada on the history of printing in Canada, with digitized images from all sorts of books, newspapers, advertisements, and pamphlets (most of which are from the 19th century).
 
Comprehensive list of links to excellent sites on Canadian drama, poetry, and fiction. Also lists Canadian writers' associations.
 
Resources for Canadian writers and researchers in Canadian Literature, including event postings and links to Canadian literary journals, ezines, and First Nations publications.ooks ... with searchable full text.