Chemistry

The U.S. Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry, a division of the Center for Disease Control, maintains this website. It includes 300+ profiles of toxic substances and their effects on human health and the environment.

Bretherick's (8th ed., 2017) contains hazardous reaction information for 5,000 elements and compounds.

This database, which is supported by the Pistoia Alliance, provides access to previously unpublished information on hazardous chemical reactions. There is no cost to access but registration is required.

Contains information on 5,300 chemicals and their impact on the environment.

Information on chemical and lab safety, emergency procedures and training.

Engineering & Science Library: Call # QD64 .A76 1996

Published by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, HSDB contains peer-reviewed toxicology data for over 5,000 hazardous chemicals.

LCSS is a public source for chemical hazard and safety information for about 5,000 compounds listed in the PubChem database. It is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

This database provides basic property data and safety information for about 1,500 chemicals.

This database contains occupational chemical information compiled from several U.S. government agencies and organizations.

First published in 1948, Patty's is a "cornerstone reference work for chemists, engineers, toxicologists, and occupational safety personnel."

This open access database contains crowd sourced data describing hazardous reactions and other real or potential laboratory safety incidents. It is hosted by the Chemical Abstracts Service of the American Chemical Society..

First published in 1951 and continuously updated, this book contains extensive data on approximately 28,000 substances. Previous editions are available in Bracken Library and the Engineering & Science Library.

This guide (3rd ed., 2009) contains 9,000 chemical incompatibility profiles.

This database contains health and safety information for over 1,700 chemicals.

This online site lists dozens of internet sources where you can find material safety data sheets (MSDS).

This database indexes articles from scientific and trade journals concerning safety and health hazards surrounding chemicals encountered in the chemical and related industries. Coverage is from 1981 to present.