Research Guides: Chemistry: Reference Works

IUPAC Books

Biochemical Nomenclature and Related Documents: A Compendium, 2nd ed. (White Book)
Print available in Bracken Library: Call # QU15 .L716b 1992
IUPAC Compendium of Analytical Nomenclature, 3rd ed. (Orange Book)
IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology (Gold Book)
The definitive guide to chemical terminology containing more than 7,000 entries.
IUPAC Compendium of Polymer Terminology and Nomenclature, 2nd ed. (Purple Book)
Print available in the Engineering & Science Library: Call # QD380.6 .C66 2009.
IUPAC Nomenclature of Inorganic Chemistry (Red Book): IUPAC Recommendations 2005
Print copy also available. Engineering and Science Library: Call number # QD149 .N659 2005 REF
IUPAC Nomenclature of Organic Chemistry (Blue Book)
Print available in the Engineering and Science Library: Call #: QD291 .N65 2014
Principles of Chemical Nomenclature: A Guide to IUPAC Recommendations
Print copy also available. Engineering and Science Library: Call # QD7 .P75 2011
IUPAC Quantities, Units and Symbols in Physical Chemistry, 3rd ed. (Green Book)
Print available in the Engineering and Science Library: Call #: QD451.5 .Q36 2007

Handbooks

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 104th ed. (2023-24)
For more than a century, the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics has been a trusted source of reliable scientific data. It contains thousands of physical and chemical data tables which are reviewed and updated on an ongoing basis.
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry, 17th ed. (2016)
Macromolecular Engineering, 2nd ed. (2022)
Merck Index, 14th ed.
Bracken Health Sciences Library: Call # QV772 .M555 2006
NIST Reference on Constants, Units, and Uncertainty
National Institute of Standards and Technology (USA)
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook, 9th ed. (2019)

Chemistry Encyclopedias

Electrochemistry Encyclopedia (ECS)
Published by the Electrochemical Society (ECS), this online encyclopedia contains several dozen up-to-date articles written by international experts.
Encyclopedia of Analytical Science, 2nd ed. (2005)
An excellent reference work for analytical chemistry. Articles cover techniques (like atomic absorption spectroscopy), analytes (like antimony, asbestos, carbohydrates), matrices (like blood, ceramics) and classes of analysis (like bioprocess analysis, forensic science). Call # ref QD71.5 .E53 2005.
Encyclopedia of Applied Electrochemistry (2014)
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry (2004)
more...less...
https://qcat.library.queensu.ca/vwebv/holdingsInfo?bibId=3440285
Encyclopedia of Chemical Physics and Physical Chemistry
Call # QD451 .E539 2001.
Encyclopedia of Colloid and Interface Science, 1st ed. (2013)
Encyclopedia of Computational Chemistry
Call #: QD39.3 .E46 E53 1998 REF
Encyclopedia of Electrochemical Power Sources (2009)
Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemical Analysis (1966-1974)
Volumes 1-3 are devoted to general techniques common to many industrial products. Volumes 4-19 cover analysis of specific materials. Volume 20 is the index to Volumes 4-19. Somewhat dated but still very useful.
Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry, 2nd ed. (2006)
Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology (2001)
Encyclopedia of Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (1996-2002)
An excellent, highly detailed work on all types of NMR spectroscopy. Check the index for a specific type of NMR you may be interested in, or for specific types of substances.
Encyclopedia of Polymer Blends, Vol. 1: Fundamentals (2010)
Encyclopedia of Polymer Blends, Vol. 2: Processing (2011)
Encyclopedia of Polymer Blends, Vol. 3: Structure (2016)
Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology (2004)
Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry, 3rd ed. (2017)
Encyclopedia of Supramolecular Chemistry (2013)
Ewing's Analytical Instrumentation Handbook, 3rd ed. (2005)
Guide to analytical methods and techniques and the instruments involved including mass measurement, spectrochemical and electrochemical instrumentation, and chromatographic methods.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, 5th ed.
Kirk-Other contains over one thousand in-depth articles on all aspects of chemical substances and technology, including properties, manufacturing, and uses. New and updated articles are added on an ongoing basis.
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Chemistry
QD4 .M33 1997 REF

Chemistry Dictionaries

Electrochemical Dictionary, 2nd ed. rev. (2013)
Electrochemistry Dictionary (ECS)
An online dictionary containing about 1,000 terms published by the Electrochemical Society (ECS).
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary, 14th ed.
Call #: QD5 .C5 2001
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary, 16th ed. (2016)
IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology (Gold Book), 2nd ed.
IUPAC Compendium of Polymer Terminology and Nomenclature (Purple Book) (2014)
Downloadable PDF version available.
IUPAC Compendium on Analytical Nomenclature, 3rd ed. (1997) (Orange Book)
IUPAC Nomenclature of Inorganic Chemistry (Red Book) (2005)
Downloadable PDF version available.
IUPAC Nomenclature of Organic Chemistry (Blue Book)
Call #: QD291 .N65 2014
IUPAC Quantities, Units and Symbols in Physical Chemistry (Green Book), 3rd ed. (2012)
Downloadable PDF version available.
Oxford Dictionary of Chemistry, 8th ed. (2020)