Skip to main content

Communication & Mass Media

Books

Search QCAT to find books, journals, videos and other materials owned by the Library.  You can search by keywords, author, title or subject headings.
 
To find a specific known item, search by title or author.  To find books on a topic, either try a subject or keyword search.

Subject Headings vs Keyword Searching

Subject headings allow you to search the library catalogue for resources on a particular author or topic and are often more productive than keyword searches. 
 
Keyword searches work best if you have muitiple concepts or topics. Think of the words that best describe your topic and then connect them with the boolean operators AND OR NOT. Use the results to find relevant titles and identify assigned subject headings for your topic in order to find similar books. 

Subject Headings

Broadcasting
Communication and culture
Communications in politics
Communication--Social aspects
Journalism
Journalism Canada
Journalism and literature
Journalistic ethics
Mass media
Mass media and youth
Mass media and public opinion
Video games
War--Press coverage

Keyword Searching

To find books on a topic, try a keyword search if you do not know the correct subject heading for a topic. For further information on performing keyword searches, see University of Saskatchewan Library's page, Using Boolean Operators
 
"mass media" and Canada
 
Select useful titles and look at the full record for subject headings.
 
Mass media--Canada--History
Minorities in mass media
Communication and culture--Canada
 
Click on the subject heading to do a new search or use words from the subject heading to modify your keyword search.
 
To find bibliographies on a topic, look for the subdivision bibliography following a subject heading.
 
Communication--Bibliography

E-Books

Books 24x7
Books 24x7 provides access to collections covering the fields of computer science, information technology and business

Oxford Scholarship Online                        
offers full-text access to scholarly publishing in 20 subjects from around the world,
 
Provides access to about 600,000 electronic books (ebooks) Prom a wide variety of publishers.
 
UPSO includes titles from Oxford University Press and other partner presses.  QUL has access to selected titles, indicated by a green open lock icon on search results screens.