Skip to main content

Cultural Studies

A selective guide to resources in Cultural Studies at Queen's University Library

Article Indexes & Databases

There is considerable breadth in the types of research topics pursued in Cultural Studies; therefore, it is recommended that you consult the subject research guide/s relevant to your research topic (for example: Art, Film and Media Studies, Geography, Gender Studies, Indigenous Studies, Religion, Sociology, etc.) to identify additional databases that meet your research needs.

Use an article index to find journal articles on your topic, as well as book reviews, conference proceedings and other materials related to your topic. Some indexes contain the full text of journals and those that don't usually provide links to the full text if it is available via other databases in our collection.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Find articles in peer-reviewed journals, conference proceedings, monographs and reports covering a broad spectrum of topics.
 
A pre-selected group of 11 citation, abstract and full-text databases covering literature published in the arts. Each database can be searched separately but they also can be searched as a group, from this starting point.
 
Social science and interdisciplinary research with international coverage.
 
Use the Google search engine to locate articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles published on the "open" web.
 
A pre-selected group of 25 citation, abstract and full-text databases covering literature published in the social sciences. Each database can be searched separately but they also can be searched as a group, from this starting point.
 
A pre-selected group of 3 citation, abstract, and full-text databases covering literature published in sociology. Each database can be searched separately but they also can be searched as a group, from this starting point.
 
Web of Science
A large, multidisciplinary database, Web of Science provides access to bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references from scholarly journals and conference proceedings. A cited reference search enables you to find articles that cite a previously published work. Includes the Social Sciences Citation Index and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index.

Indexes to Non-mainstream Publications

Alternative Press Index
Print holdings: 1969 - 2009

Interdisciplinary index to alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Interdisciplinary, with a focus on publications from ethnic, minority and native presses.

Selected Specialized Indexes

History of the United States and Canada from pre-historic times to the present.
Indexes writing and research on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
 
Print holdings: Library also has older volumes in print: check QCAT for details.
Index to scholarly journal articles on art and related disciplines (anthropology, architecture, design, video art, etc.). Emphasis is on Western art.
 
BNNA is a bibliographic database covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life.
 
Index to scholarly publications on theology and religious studies.
 
Comprehensive bibliographic database to film and television literature.
 
Indexes scholarly and popular journals covering gender-engaged scholarship.
 
Comprehensive index to scholarly literature on world history from 1450 to present (excluding the U.S. and Canada).
 
Includes over 500 core journals, with an emphasis on specialist and rare titles, plus monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues. At least 60% of the content is in languages other than English.
 
Comprehensive index (with abstracts and links to full-text) to articles, books and reference works relating to gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues.
 
Includes MLA International Bibliography. Collection of English and American poetry, drama and prose, as well as literature journals and key criticism and reference resources.
 
Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing (PEPWeb)
The Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing archive grants access to a comprehensive array of the psychoanalytic literature dating back to the early 1900s.
 
Major international index to scholarly research in all fields of philosophy.