The multimedia collection at Queen's Library contains thousands of DVDs and a growing number of online (streaming) videos. In addition, the library subscribes to several online video collections, which are listed below.
Perform your search in Omni and to limit your search results to Videos, select Videos from the Resource Type facet located along the left side of the screen. You can also restrict your search results to Video/Film within Advanced Search:
Audio Cine
Hundreds of films from major studios including Walt Disney Pictures, Touchstones Pictures, Hollywood Pictures, Pixar Animation Studios, Sony Pictures Entertainment, Columbia Pictures, Tristar Pictures, Universal Studios Canada and MGM Studios.
Criterion on Demand
Users may stream or download from a selection of over 5800 films ranging from classic film, documentaries, international film, North American feature films, cult classics, and more.
Curio.ca
Streaming access to the best in educational content from CBC and Radio-Canada. Documentaries from television and radio, news reports, archival material, stock shots and more — thousands of programs and resources can be accessed on this site. Includes English and French language content. Programs include The Nature of Things, Doc Zone, Dragons' Den, The Fifth Estate, The Passionate Eye, Monster Math Squad, The Current, News in Review and Marketplace.
Films on Demand
Database of documentaries, educational videos and news footage. The Library subscribes to the Humanities & Social Sciences Collection.
NFB.ca - The National Film Board's Online Screening Room
Access to documentaries, animation and alternative dramas in streaming video, as well as NFB playlists, upcoming films and other related resources.
For additional information on video collections available at Queen's Library, visit http://library.queensu.ca/search/video-collections.
Images provide a visual element that can strongly enhance coursework. However, finding images of a sufficient quality can be challenging. It is also important to ensure the image may be used without violating copyright. Please consult the Finding Images guide for more information.
Digital Theatre Plus: full-length films of Shakespeare plays, modern dramas, classical music, dance, musicals, opera and adaptations of classic novels
Met Opera on Demand: 600 Metropolitan Opera performances including HD videos, classic telecasts (originally broadcast live on television from 1977-2003), and radio broadcast performances (audio-only) dating back to 1935. Queen's Library trial database until October 31, 2017.
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries: Published recordings owned by the Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label, as well as archival audio collections of legendary record labels in the United States. Includes music recorded in Africa, Asia, Oceania, Europe, North, Central and South America. Search results now contain embedded links to related articles in The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
Naxos Music Library: Online listening access to more than 24,000 music recordings. NOTE: Check system requirements and settings.
Naxos Video Library: Over 1370 full-length videos of classical music performances, opera, ballet, jazz, live concerts and documentaries, searchable by category, role, composer, artist, production personnel, work, venue or festival.