Skip to main content

Cultural Studies

A selective guide to resources in Cultural Studies at Queen's University Library

Primary Source Materials

The following are some of the primary source databases to which Queen's Library subscribes:
 
Contains the full text of almost 800 sources, including the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans as well as interviews, journal articles, letters and other fugitive material.
 
Historical documents to support study and analysis of gender, leisure and consumer culture.
 
A collection of works, in both original language and English translation, written by seminal figures in the humanities and social sciences. Subjects covered include the history of political thought and theory, education, religious studies, economics, classics, history and philosophy of science, germanic studies and sociology.
 
A collection of influential writings representing the most important trends of sociological thought from the 18th century to the present day. Relevant to the fields of sociology, economics, political science, race and gender studies, intellectual history, media studies, psychology and philosophy.
 
The first ever scholarly, primary source database focusing on adult comic books and graphic novels. Beginning with the first underground comix from the 1960’s to the works of modern sequential artists.
 
Covers a wide range of primary and secondary documents, a dictionary of social movements and organizations, a chronology of U.S. women's history, as well as images and links to other websites.

Queen's Archives and Special Collections

Queen's Archives
The Archives houses approximately 10 kilometres of textual records, 2 million photographs, tens of thousands of architectural plans and drawings, and thousands of sound recordings and moving images.

 

W.D. Jordan Library Special Collections
Special Collections is a rich and diverse research resource containing a wide range of printed and visual materials.