Skip to main content

Dictionaries & Thesauri

A resource guide to Queens Libraries dictionary and thesauri reference resources.

Languages

  B   C   D   E    G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z

A

Afrikaans
 
Afrikaans-English, English-Afrikaans Dictionary
REF PF862.K966 2001t
 
Concise Trilingual Dictionary; English, Xhosa, Afrikaans
PL8323.J4 1972t
 
Albanian
 
Albanian-English Dictionary
REF PG9591.A43 1999
 
Arabic
 
 
 
Oxford Essential Arabic Dictionary : English-Arabic, Arabic-English
REF PJ6640 .O94 2010
 
al-Mawrid [multimedia] : qāmūs Inkilīzī-ʻArabī / Munīr al-Baʻlabakkī = Al-Mawrid : a Modern English-Arabic Dictionary
REF PJ6640 .B34 2007
 
Al-Muhit Oxford Study Dictionary, English-Arabic
REF PJ6640 A46 2005
 
Arabic Dictionary & Phrasebook : English-Arabic, Arabic-English
REF DESK PJ6640 .G32 2005
 
Concise Oxford English-Arabic Dictionary of Current Usage
REF PJ6640 .O93 1982
 
A Dictionary of Modern Written Arabic (Arabic-English)
REF PJ6640 .W44 1994
 
Armenian
 
English-Armenian and Armenian-English Concise Dictionary
PK8441.Y3 1944
 
Shirak's English-American Dictionary with Transliteration
REF PK8450.4.H36 1999
 
 

B

Basque
 
Basque-English, English-Basque Dictionary
REF PH5177.E5A954 1992
 
Bengali
 
  
Blackfoot (Siksika)
 
Blackfoot Dictionary of Stems, Roots, and Affixes 
REF PM2343.F72 1989t
 
Bulgarian
 
Bulgarian-English, English-Bulgarian Dictionary 
REF PG979.T36 1992t
 

C

Chinese
 
Oxford Chinese Desk Dictionary (English-Chinese; Chinese-English)
REF PL1455 .O87 2009
 
ABC Chinese-English Comprehensive Dictionary
REF PL1455.A33 2003
 
A New English-Chinese Dictionary
REF PL1455.Y56 1984t
 
Oxford-Duden Pictorial Chinese & English Dictionary
REF PL1423.O94 1989t
 
Pinyin Chinese-English Dictionary
REF PL1455.P56 1979t
 
Cree
 
Alberta Elders' Cree Dictionary = Alperta Ohci Kehteyak Nehiyaw Otwestamakewin Masinahikan
REF PM988.L42 1998t
 
English-Cree Primer and Vocabulary
PM988.S84 1955
 
Czech
 
English-Czech, Czech-English Dictionary
REF PG4640.C38 1963
 
English-Czech, Czech-English Dictionary
REF PG4640.A484 1998
 

D

Danish
 
Dansk-engelsk Ordbog (Danish-English Dictionary)
PD3640.V7 1954 (2 vols)
 
Dansk-engelsk Ordbog (Danish-English Dictionary)
REF PD3640 .A94 1995
 
The Standard Danish-English, English-Danish Dictionary = Dansk-engelsk, Engelsk-dansk ordboy
REF PD3640.S74 1986
 
Delaware
 
Delaware-English/English-Delaware Dictionary
REF PM1033.O43 1996
 
Dutch
 
Cassell's English-Dutch, Dutch-English Dictionary
REF PF640 .C375 1967
 
New Routledge Dutch Dictionary : Dutch-English, English-Dutch
REF PF640.O77 2003
 

E

Esperanto
 
English-Esperanto Dictionary
PM8237.F8 1963
 
Esperanto-English Dictionary
REF PM8237.B8
 
The E.U.P. Concise Esperanto and English Dictionary
PM8237.W4 1969
 
Estonian
 
Inglise-eesti Sonaraamat Koolidele = English-Estonian Dictionary for Schools
REF PH625.R3 1966t
 
Estonian-English Dictionary = Eesti-Inglise Sonaraamat Koolidele
REF PH625.S49 1964
 

F

French
 
Oxford-Hachette French Dictionary (French-English; English-French)
REF PC2640 .O83 2007 (4th ed)
 
 
Collins Robert French Dictionary = Le Robert & Collins dictionaire français-anglais, anglais-français
REF PC2640 .C533 2010 (9th ed)
 
Grand dictionnaire : française-anglais, anglais-français = French-English, English-French dictionary
REF DESK PC2640 .G68 2010
 
We have many dictionaries in the Reference collection and in the stacks:
 
  • French-English/English-French Dictionaries
    REF PC2640
  • French Language Dictionaries
    PC2625
  • English-French/French-English Business Dictionaries
    HF1002
 

G

Gaelic
 
The Essential Gaelic-English Dictionary : a Dictionary for Students and Learners of Scottish Gaelic
REF PB1591.W38 2001
 
Illustrated Gaelic-English Dictionary
REF PB1591.D98 1941
 
A Pronouncing and Etymological Dictionary of the Gaelic Language: Gaelic-English, English-Gaelic
REF PB1591.M29 1979
 
Ganda (Luganda)
 
Luganda-English Dictionary
REF PL8201.S6 1967
 
Georgian
 
Georgian-English Dictionary
REF PK9125.C47 1950
 
German
 
Oxford German Dictionary (German-English; English-German)
REF PF3640 .O9425 2008 (3rd ed)
 
Duden (we also have a variety of Duden books in our Reference collection) 
 
Das Grosse Woerterbuch der deutschen Sprache in 6 Baenden
REF PF3625 .G75 (A contemporary German dictionary in 6 volumes)
 
Ein Projekt des Kompetenzzentrums für elektronische Erschließungs- und Publikationsverfahren in den Geisteswissenschaften an der Universität Trier
 
Greek
 
English-Greek and Greek-English Dictionary, including English and Greek Grammar, Geographical and Proper Names and Abbreviations
REF PA1139.E5 K9 1947
 
English-Greek Dictionary : a Vocabulary of the Attic Language
REF PA445.E5W6 1964
 
Greek-English Lexicon
REF PA445.E5L7 1925-1940 (2 vols)
 
Greek-English Lexicon. Supplement
REF PA445.E5L7 1996
 
An Intermediate Greek-English Lexicon
REF PA445.E5L7 1989
 
The Oxford Dictionary of Modern Greek : Greek-English and English-Greek
REF PA1139.E5 P77 1986
 
Suidae Lexicon
REF PA5365.A7 1967 (5 vols)
 

Back to Top

H

Hausa
 
Hausa-English Dictionary and English-Hausa Vocabulary
REF PL8233.B3
  
Hebrew
 
Complete Hebrew-English Dictionary
REF PJ4833.A42 1974
 
Dictionary of Classical Hebrew
REF PJ4833.O53 1993
 
Modern Hebrew-English Dictionary
REF PJ4833.Z57 2002
 
Hindi
 
 
 
Star English-Hindi, Hindi-English Dictionary
REF PK1936.S73 1997
 
Chambers English-Hindi Dictionary
REF PK1936 .C49 1981
 
A Dictionary of Urdu, Classical Hindi and English
REF PK1986.P4 1977
 
Comprehensive English-Hindi Dictionary (Brhat Angreji-Hindi Kosa)
REF PK1933.B15 1960
 
Hindustani
 
 
Student's Practical Dictionary Containing Hindustani Words with English Meanings in Persian Character
PK1986.S9
 
Hungarian
 
Angol-Magyar Szotar = English-Hungarian Dictionary
REF PH2640.O69 1960
 
English-Hungarian Standard Dictionary
REF PH2640 .M335 1991t
 
Hungarian-English Standard Dictionary
REF PH2640.M336 1991t
 
Magyar-Angol Szotar = Hungarian-English Dictionary
REF PH2640.O7 1963
 
Oxford-Duden Pictorial Hungarian-English Dictionary
REF PH2640.O93 1994t

 

Back to Top

I

Icelandic
 
Ensk-islensk Ordabok med Alfraedilegu Ivafi Byggd a Scott, Foresman Advanced Dictionary ...
REF PD2437.E58 1984t
 
Islensk-ensk Ordabok = Concise Icelandic-English Dictionary
REF PD2437.I83 1989t
 
Indonesian
 
English-Indonesian Dictionary
REF PL5076.E23 1975
 
Indonesian-English Dictionary
PL5076.E25 1963
 
Inuktitut
 
Basic Siglit Inuvialuit Eskimo Dictionary = Siglit Inuvialuit Uqausiita Kipuktirutait
REF PM63.L68 1984t
 
Eskimo-English, English-Eskimo Dictionary : Inuktitut-English, English-Inuktitut Dictionary
REF PM63.T42 1997
 
Inuktitut: a Multi-Dialectal Outline Dictionary (with an Aivilingmiutaq base)
REF PM55.Z5S63 1998t
 
Ulirnaisigutiit : an Inuktitut-English Dictionary of Northern Quebec, Labrador, and Eastern Arctic Dialects (with an English-Inuktitut Index)
REF PM63.S313 1985u
 
Irish
 
English-Irish Dictionary
REF PB1291.D28 1959
 
Focloir Gaelige Agus Bearla. An Irish-English Dictionary, being a Thesaurus of the Words, Phrases and Idioms of the Modern Irish Language
REF PB1291.D5 1934
 
 
 
Oxford Pocket Irish Dictionary
REF PB1291.O94 2000
  
Italian
 
Oxford-Paravia Italian Dictionary : English-Italian, Italian-English = Oxford Paravia il Dizionario : Inglese/Italiano, Italiano/Inglese
REF PC1640 .O94 2010 (3rd ed)
 
Oxford-Paravia il Dizionario Inglese Italiano, Italiano Inglese
REF PC1640 .O95 2006 (2nd ed)
 
DII Dizionario : Inglese-italiano, Italiano-inglese. (variant title: Oxford Paravia Italian Dictionary)
REF PC1640.D18 2001
 
 
 
Garzanti Italiano : i Grandi Dizionari (Note: Italian only)
REF PC1625 .G37 2008
Temporarily shelved at Stauffer Library - Reference DeskGuide c.1
Temporarily shelved at Stauffer Library - Reference Desk
 
Grande Dizionario Della Lingua Italiana (Note: Italian only)
REF PC1625 .B3 2004

Back to Top

J

Japanese 
 
Collins English-Japanese Dictionary
REF PL679 .C55 2006
 
Collins Shubun English Japanese Dictionary
REF PL675 .C65 1993t
 
Basic Japanese-English Dictionary
REF PL679.B37 1989
 
Kenkyusha's New English-Japanese Dictionary on Bilingual Principles
PL679.K33 1960
 
Harrap Japanese Business Management Dictionary
REF HF1002.T348 1999t
 
Japanese Business Language : an Essential Dictionary
REF PL674.B8J262 1987u
 
Japanese/English English/Japanese Glossary of Scientific and Technical Terms
REF Q123 .T844 1993
 
Javanese
 
Javanese-English Dictionary
REF PL5166.H64 1974
 

Back to Top

K

Korean
 
Korean-English Dictionary
REF PL937.E5M3 1967
 
Standard English-Korean Dictionary for Foreigners
REF PL937.K67S7 1982

 

Back to Top

L

Lao
 
English-Lao, Lao-English Dictionary
REF PL4251.L34M3 1970
 
Latin
 
Cassell's Latin Dictionary : Latin-English, English-Latin
REF PA2365.E5C3 1977
 
A Copious and Critical English-Latin Dictionary
PA2365.E5S6 1871
 
A Latin-English Dictionary
PA2365.E5W5 1876
 
 
 
Latvian
 
Latvian-English Dictionary
REF PG8979.T84 199-?
 
Latvian English Dictionary
PG8979.T84 1964
 
Lithuanian
 
Lithuanian Dictionary : English-Lithuanian, Lithuanian-English
REF PG8679.P52 1995
 
Lithuanian-English Dictionary
PG8679.P38 1967

 

Back to Top

M

Malay
 
Collins Gem Dictionary : Bahasa Malaysia-English, English-Bahasa Malaysia
REF PL5125.C6 1982
 
Maori
 
English-Maori Dictionary
REF PL646.B5 1981
 
Mende
 
A Mende-English Dictionary
REF PL8511.Z5I5 1969
 
Michif
 
The Michif Dictionary : Turtle Mountain Chippewa Cree
REF PM7895.M53L39 1983t
 
Micmac
 
English-Micmac Dictionary
REF PM1793.R2 1994
 
Mississaga
 
The Language of the Mississaga Indians of Skugog (a brief vocabulary)
PM1831.C4 1892
 
Mohawk
 
Iontewennaweienhstáhkwa' : Mohawk Language Dictionary
REF PM1883.M37 1990t

 

Back to Top

N

Norwegian
 
Norwegian Dictionary : Norwegian-English, English-Norwegian
REF PD2691.N58 1994
 
Norwegian-English Dictionary : a Pronouncing and Translating Dictionary ... = Norsk Engelsk Ordbok
PD2691.N6 1967
 
Norsk-engelsk Ordbok
REF PD2691.K5 1983
 
Engelsk-norsk Ordbok
REF PD2691.B4 1981

 

Back to Top

P

Persian
 
 
 
Farci Look Up (Persian-English, English-Persian, Persian-Persian)
 
 
 
 
Combined New Persian-English and English-Persian Dictionary
REF PK6379.A78 1986
 
Comprehensive Persian-English Dictionary
REF PK6379.S7 1996t
 
Polish
 
English-Polish, Polish-English Pocket Dictionary
REF PG6640.J3 1995
 
Dictionary, Polish-English, English-Polish: Contemporary Usage
REF PG6640.P54 1983
 
Portuguese
 
Novo Michaelis : Dicionario Ilustrado, Ingles-Portugues, Portugues-Ingles = New Michaelis Illustrated Dictionary; English-Portuguese,  Portuguese-English (2 vols)
REF PC5333.M6 1958
 
Portuguese-English dictionary
REF PC5333.T2 1970
 

Back to Top

R

Romanian
 
Complete Roumanian-English Dictionary
REF PC779.A82 1942
 
Rumanian-English and English-Rumanian Dictionary ; with Supplement of New Words...
REF PC779.S366 1952
 
Russian
 
Oxford Russian Dictionary Russian-English; English-Russian
REF PG2640.W5 2000 (3rd ed)
 
English-Russian, Russian-English Dictionary
REF PG2640.K34 1994t
 

Back to Top

S

Sanskrit
 
A Practical Sanskrit Dictionary with Transliteration, Accentuation, and Etymological Analysis Throughout
REF PK933.M3 1965
 
Sanskrit-English Dictionary Etymologically and Philologically Arranged with Special Reference to Cognate Indo-European Languages 2002
REF PK933 .M6 2002
  
Serbo-Croatian
 
Enciklopediski Englesko-srpskohrvatski Recnik = An English-Serbocroatian Dictionary (2 vols)
REF PG1377.E6 1963
 
New English-Croatian and Croatian-English Dictionary
REF PG1377.B72 1971
 
Recnik Englesko-srpkohrvatski i Srpskohrvatsko-engleski, sa Engleskom Gramatikom = A Pocket Dictionary, English-Serbocroatian and Serbocroatian-English
PG1377.C9 1958
  
Slovak
 
Slovak-English Phraseological Dictionary
REF PG5379.K58 1969
 
Anglicko-slovenskOy a slovensko-anglickOy vreckovOy slovnOik
PG5379.A82 1963
  
Spanish
 
Oxford Spanish Dictionary Spanish-English; English-Spanish
REF PC4640 .O94 2008
 
Diccionario de la Lengua Española (Vigésima segunda edición)
REF PC4625.A3 2001
 
Collins Spanish-English, English-Spanish Dictionary = Collins Diccionario Español-inglés, Ingles-español
REF PC4640. S595 1992
 
 
Pocket Dictionary of Business Spanish
REF HF1002.B35 1995t
  
Swahili
 
A Concise English-Swahili Dictionary
PL8703.S6 1958
 
A Standard Swahili-English Dictionary
PL8703.I53 1964
  
Swedish
 
Prisma's abridged English-Swedish and Swedish-English Dictionary
REF PD5640.P66 1995
 
Prisma's Swedish-English and English-Swedish Dictionary
REF PD5640.P74 1989t
 
Svensk-engelsk Ordbok
PD5640.S94 1981t
 
Stora Engelsk-svenska Ordboken
PD5640.S8 1980

 

Back to Top

T

Tagalog
 
Concise English-Tagalog Dictionary
REF PL6056.P3 1969
  
Thai
 
Oxford-Duden Pictorial Thai & English Dictionary
REF PL4188.O93 1994t
 
Thai-English Student's Dictionary
REF PL4156.H3 1964
  
Tibetan
 
New Tibetan-English Dictionary of Modern Tibetan
REF PL3637.E5N48 2001
 
Tibetan-English Dictionary with Special Reference to the Dialects
PL3637.J2 1965
  
Turkish
 
 
 
 
 
Redhouse
 
İngilizce-Türkçe Redhouse sözlüğü = Redhouse English-Turkish dictionary
REF PL191 .I49 2009
 
Türkçe-İngilizce Redhouse sözlük = The Redhouse Turkish-English dictionary
REF PL191 .T847 2007
 
Redhouse Türkçe/Osmanlıca-İngilizce sözlük = Redhouse Turkish/Ottoman-English
REF PL191 .R547 1999
  
Tuscarora
 
Tuscarora-English / English-Tuscarora Dictionary
REF PM2501.Z5R82 1999

 

Back to Top

U

Ukrainian
 
English-Ukrainian Dictionary
PG3891.P74 1958
 
Ukrainian-English and English-Ukrainian Dictionary
REF PG3891.N55 1994
 
Ukrainian-English Dictionary
PG3891.P62 1957
  
Urdu
 
 
 
Dictionary of Urdu, Classical Hindi and English
REF PK1986 .P4 1977
 

Back to Top

 

V

Vietnamese
 
Langenscheidt's Pocket Vietnamese Dictionary
REF PL4376.L36 2002
 
Vietnamese-English Dictionary
REF PL4376.N355 1966

 

Back to Top

W

Welsh
 
Welsh-English, English-Welsh Dictionary
REF PB2191.E685 1969
 
Y Geiriadur Cryno = The Concise Welsh Dictionary
REF PS2191.L595 2001t

 

Back to Top

Y

Yiddish
 
English-Yiddish, Yiddish-English Dictionary
REF PJ5117.H27 1983t
 
Yiddish-English-Hebreisher Veterbukh / Yiddish-English-Hebrew Dictionary
PJ5117.H54 1988
  
Yoruba
 
First Illustrated Yoruba Dictionary : Yoruba-English, English-Yoruba
REF PL8823.F37 1991t