Skip to main content

Drama

Selected Biographies

Includes biographical information.
 
A Biographical Dictionary of Actors, Actresses, Musicians, Dancers, Managers & Other Stage Personnel in London, 1660-1800
PN2597 .H5 (16 vols)
 
Biography Index
REF Z5301 .B61 (1946-2011)
Index to biographical material in journals and books.
 
Plays from North America, Africa and the Caribbean. Includes biographies.
 
Contemporary Dramatists (1993; 5th ed.)
REF PR737 .C57 1999 (6th ed.)
Covers in detail the lives and works of over 450 living playwrights who write in the English language.
 
 
Contemporary Theatre, Film and Television
REF PN1583 .C6t
Multi-volume set that is a continuation of Who's Who in the Theatre.
 
Contemporary Women Dramatists
REF PR736 .C58 1994
Covers eighty-five women dramatists. Each entry contains a detailed biography, a bibliography of books and critical studies and a critical essay examining the dramatist's body of work.
 
Critical Survey of Drama
REF PN1625 .C69 2003
This eight volume set supplies essays about 538 individual dramatists and 64 overview essays on topics covering, for example, African American drama, feminist theater, gay and lesbian theater, resources, and radio and television drama (limited to the US). Entries extend far beyond dramatists writing in English, cover both genders, and range historically from the ancient to the most contemporary.
 
Current Biography
REF CT100 .C8 
Published monthly, with a bound annual cumulatation. Includes biographical sketches of various personalities.
 
Famous Actors and Actresses on the American Stage
PN2285 .Y6 1975 (2 volumes)
 
Includes biographical information.
 
Plays, biographical, production, and theatrical information.
 
 
 
Stage Deaths : a Biographical Guide to International Theatrical Obituaries, 1850 to 1990
 Z5781 .S76 1991
 
Stage Lives : a Bibliography and Index to Theatrical Biographies in English
 Z5781 .S78 1985
 
Theatrical Designers: An International Biographical Dictionary
REF PN2096 .A1M54 1992t
Covers 270 designers from the fifteenth century up to the present.
 
Theatrical Directors: a Biographical Dictionary
PN2205 .T54 1994
Contains biographical sketches of over 300 individuals. It includes both contemporary directors and those who are no longer working. Emphasis is on artists who have international reputations, especially those whose work has had an impact on American theatre.
 
Who was Who in the Theatre, 1912-1976: Biographical Dictionary of Actors, Actresses, Directors, Playwrights, and Producers of the English Speaking Theatre
REF PN259 7.W52
 
Who's Who in Contemporary World Theatre (2002)
REF PN2035 .W485 2000
Source for actors, directors, designers, and dramatists in 68 countries and listing 1,400 artists who are active today or are well-known nationally or internationally. Entries are brief, supplying date of birth, nationality, professional training, and major accomplishments.
 

Searching QCAT

The library catalog (QCAT) is an important resource for finding biographies. Several broad subject terms that can be used in keyword searches for finding biographical resources are: 
 
Actors--Canada--Biography
Dramatists--Biography
Theater--Biography
Theatrical Producers and Directors
 
names of individual playwrights, actors, producers....
 
Miller Arthur
Barrymore John
Shakespeare William
Merrick David