The Education Library on the main floor of McArthur Hall, West Campus, is open to serve your needs this fall and winter from Monday to Thursday, 8 am to 9 pm, Friday, 8 am to 4:30 pm, and Saturday & Sunday, 10 am to 4:30 pm
Materials in our print research collection may be borrowed by graduate students and faculty on term loan, so items borrowed now will be due back January 15, 2018, unless another user requests the item.
If an item you need is "out" on this term loan you may RECALL it by using the REQUEST link on the items page in our library catalogue.
Queen's University Library is a major research library, providing you with access to a print collection of over 3 million volumes and online access to over 100,000 online journals and 800,000 e-books. The Education Library's research collection on Floor 3 consists of 85,000 volumes.
Two research librarians are available in the Education Library and/or via email to answer any questions you may have about our collections or to assist you with your literature searches. We are happy for you to drop in for quick questions or to make an appointment for deeper investigations into the research literature or to map our a research strategy.
Research Liaison Librarians in Education:
Brenda Reed, 613-533-6000, x77644
Mary Claire Vandenburg, 613-533-6000, x74094
RESEARCH DATA MANAGEMENT
For assistance with research data management, from developing a data management plan to depositing your data in a shared archive for preservation and long term access, talk to your Subject Librarian. To read more about the services available to Queen's researchers for data management, see the Research Data Management Guide.
Depending on your needs and the discipline you are working in, one or another citation management software tools may help you organize the literature you discover and want to track as you do your research and writing. Two of the most frequently used citation management tools in Education are EndNote (a Clarivate Analytics product) and Mendeley (an Elsevier product). The Queen's University Library Citation Management Guide includes detailed information on how to get started with and use both EndNote and Mendeley. Ask your Education Librarians if you run in to obstacles with either product and we will search for a solution with you.
INTERLIBRARY LOANS: RACER
Use the RACER Interlibrary Loans service to request materials not available at Queen's U Library. We work with libraries across North America and beyond to supply you with the materials your research investigation requires.
If you need an item that is not available in the Queen's Library system, use your Queen's card barcode and your last name (in lowercase) to log in to your RACER account to request the item. Our staff will take it from there. Print materials usually arrive within 1-2 weeks; journal articles & single chapters are delivered to your email in pdf format within a few days.
We do, though, encourage you to check with a research librarian before requesting articles via RACER as there may be paths to the book or article you seek that did not show up in your search results. We are happy to double check that we cannot supply immediate access to the item. We will also consider purchasing titles needed for your research, especially if they are core to your area of study. Ebook purchases are typically available in 24 hours, so don't hesitate to ask us about this.
There is no charge for the Interlibrary Loan service at Queen's. We want to be sure you have access to the collections you need for your research and understand that no one library can have deep collections on every topic. Don't hesitate to keep us informed about the sources you seek!
If a book that you need is housed in another campus library, use the REQUEST link on the item's QCAT record to request that the item be delivered to your library of choice. The delivery time is usually 2 days. An email will be sent to you on the next business day to let you know it is available for pick-up, or you can track its status in real time in QCAT.
When you need a print/video item that is currently signed out and due within 2 weeks, use the REQUEST link on the item's QCAT record to request a HOLD. When the item is returned it will be held for you at the Service Desk you requested. An email will be sent to you on the next business day to let you know it is available for pick-up, or you can track its status in real time in QCAT.
When you need a print item that is currently signed out on a term loan (due Jan. 15, May 15, or Sept.15), use the REQUEST link on the item's QCAT record to request a RECALL. When the item is returned it will be held for you at the Service Desk you requested. An email will be sent to you on the next business day to let you know it is available for pick-up, or you can track its status in real time in QCAT.
PRINT / COPY / SCAN
Add "Tri-Colour Cash" to your Queen's photo-ID student/staff/faculty card to print from any computer in any Queen's Library -- or from your own laptop to one of our new "Multi-Function Devices" (formerly known as copiers).
Use Visa, MasterCard, or Interac to purchase the Tri-Colour Cash. It will appear on your statement as Queen's Optional Meal Plans.
Copies: 10 cents/page (b&w); 45 cents/page (colour)
Printing: 9 cents/page (b&w double-sided); 40 cents/page (colour double-sided)
Scanning: free (it is a scan-to-data key service only) Staff at our Service Desks can lend you a data key if you need one to scan to and then send the file to yourself via email from a computer.