Skip to main content

ENGL 258: Jacobean Shakespeare

Journal Articles

Articles are smaller in scope than books and can therefore focus on more particular aspects of a given topic. Since articles are faster to produce and publish, the most up-to-date research often appears in this form.

Articles in scholarly journals are peer-reviewed—that is to say, they have gone through an anonymous formal vetting and editing process—whereas articles in magazines or newspapers are accepted at the discretion of a single editor. In general, the most thoroughly researched articles on literary topics are found in scholarly journals: these are what you should most often cite in research essays in the English Department.

Key Journal Indexes

This is the standard bibliography for scholarly writing on literature, linguistics, drama, folklore, etc. Indexes over 4,000 international journals, as well as monographs, dissertations, and other publications.
 
Searchable database of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose. Also indexes criticism from The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) and MLA International Bibliography (MLAIB), and includes the full text of 104 specialist literature journals.
 
The LRC is a complete literature reference database rich in biographical, bibliographical, and critical content.

Other Relevant Databases

Historical Abstracts
Index to scholarly literature on world history from 1450 to present (excluding the U.S. and Canada)

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance

JSTOR
Collection of articles from key periodicals (413 literature and language titles are indexed), excluding the most current 2-5 years of a title.

Project Muse
A collection of peer-reviewed electronic journals in the arts, humanities, etc. (including 187 literature journals).

Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Collection of English language books published prior to 1700.

Bibliography of British and Irish History
Covers history of the British Isles and the Brtish Empire from 55 B.C. to the present. 

 

Why Use a Index?

Use an article index to find journal articles on your topic, as well as criticism and other materials related to literature. 

Some will contain the full text of journals and those that don't usually provide links to the full text if it is available via other databases in our collection.

Evaluate Articles

Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.

But not all journal articles will be useful for your essay so you will need to evaluate before you use them. 

Consult our guide, Distinguishing Scholary from Non Scholarly Periodicals, to discover the difference.