Skip to main content

ENGL 290 003: The Bluest Eye and Beasts of No Nation

Selected Web Resources

Library Databases

Black Studies Center
Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books and much more.

Black Thought and Culture
provides monographs, essays, articles, letters, speeches, political leaflets and interviews by major American black leaders.

Oral History Online
Is a database of English language oral histories.

Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
Documents the history of African American music in an online music listening service. Contains a diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, among others.

Slavery Abolition and Social Justice 
Collection of materials from libraries and archives on slavery and abolition studies.

Freely Available Websites

General

Umbra: Search African American History 
Assembles a national collection of digital materials such as images, videos, books and more.

Black Past

Emmett Till Memory Project

The Civil Rights Era in the U.S. News & World Report Photographs Collection

Images of African Americans from the 19th century (Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture)      

Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive
Thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts.

Library of Congress Digital Collections - African American History

New York Public Library Digital Collections
Materials include prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video +

Photographs of Signs Enforcing Racial Discrimination: Documentation by Farm Security Administration Office of War Information Photographers 
Includes all the known images of discrimination signs found in the Farm Security Administration-Office of War Information file of photographic prints.  

Slavery

Digital Library on American Slavery

Documenting the American South - North American Slave Narratives
Digitized narratives of fugitive and former slaves published in broadsides, pamphlets or book forms in English up to 1920 and many biographies of former slaves.

Voices from the Days of Slavery (Library of Congress)

The Avalon Project: Documents on Slavery

Newspapers .

Historical African American Newspapers (Marist University) 
A list of free digitized historical African American newspapers.

Proquest Historical Newspapers
Provide full image of articles published in various newspapers including the New York Times, the Atlanta Constitution and Chicago Defender and Tribune.. to name a few.

 

Primary Sources

Check the Primary Sources guide for information on finding primary sources in the humanities and social sciences.

Evaluate Websites

Anyone can create a webpage, so it is particularly important to analyze and assess information that you find on the Web before using it in a research paper.

Go to our Evaluating Web Sources page for a checklist of points to consider when analyzing a webpage

Featured Website

Emmett Till Memory Project

Emmett Till Project (New York Public Library Schomburg Center For Research In Black Culture)

Civil rights : The Emmett Till Case (The Eisenhower Presidential Library)

Journals

Search Google Books to find the following magazines:

Ebony (also available on microfilm and in print)

Jet

Life (also available on microfilm and in print)