Skip to main content

ENGL 321: Renaissance Poetry and Prose

Finding Bibliographies

Bibliographies are useful for finding the most important publications on a given topic and can range from the general to the specific. There are specialized bibliographies on individual authors, genres, topics and periods. 

To find bibliographies in QCAT, search by keyword by typing bibliography or reference guide and topical keyword. 

English literature--Early modern, 1500-1700--Bibliography

To find bibliographies for individual authors, search for the author's name as a subject and scroll down to the sub-heading bibliography, if available.

Donne John 1572-1631--Bibliography
Milton John 1608-1674--Bibliography
Shakespeare William 1564-1616--Bibliography  

Specialized Bibliographies

Consult these bibliographies to see what has been written on the subject of your research paper.

Shakespeare

World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
Provides annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare.

The Essential Shakespeare : an Annotated Bibliography of Major Modern Studies
Z8811 .C53 1993

Shakespeare, a Bibliographical Guide
Z8811 .S5 1990t

Milton

An Annotated Critical Bibliography of John Milton
Z8578 .P37 1987t

John Milton; an Annotated Bibliography, 1929-1968
PR3595 .H88 1969

John Milton : an Annotated Bibliography, 1968-1988
Z8578 .H82 1996

Donne

John Donne: an Annotated Bibliography of Modern Criticism, 1912-1967
Z8237 .R6

John Donne: an Annotated Bibliography of Modern Criticism, 1968-1978
Z8237 .R63 1982

John Donne: An Annotated Bibliography of Modern Criticism, 1979-1995
On order

 

Bibliographies like Oxford Bibliographies offer authoritative research guides helping you to narrow the vast number of citations to the best scholarship on a given topic.

Check the research guide, Renaissance and Reformation and British Literature, as well as the individual essays on John Donne, William ShakespeareMary Wroth, English Poetry and Sonnet and Sonnet Sequence.