Skip to main content

ENGL 321: Renaissance Poetry and Prose

Selected Literature Resources

The Cambridge Companion to English Poets
PR503 .C36 2011

The Cambridge Companion to the Sonnet
PR509.S7 C36 2011

Selected Resources for Shakespeare

 
 
Shakespeare's Non-standard English : a Dictionary of His Informal Language
REF PR2892 .B56 2004

Selected Resources for Milton

Milton Encyclopedia
PR3580 .M5 (Stauffer Reference)
9 volumes

The Cambridge Companion to Milton

The Cambridge Companion to Paradise Lost
PR3562 .C336 2014

A Companion to Milton

The Oxford Handbook of Milton
PR3587.3 .O94 2009

A Variorum Commentary on the Poems of John Milton
PR3593 .V3

Selected Resources for Donne

The Cambridge companion to John Donne

Oxford Handbook of John Donne
PR2248 .O94 2011

The Variorum Edition of the Poetry of John Donne (4 volumes published)
PR2245.A5 P37 1994
Presents newly edited critical texts of the poems and a comprehensive digest of the critical-scholarly commentary on them from Donne's time forward.

DigitalDonne : the Online Variorum

Selected Resources for Spenser

Critical Companion to Spenser Studies
PR2364 .C68 2006

The Cambridge Companion to Spenser

Historical Resources

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
REF CB361 .E52 1999 (6 volumes)

Reference Sources

Encyclopedias and dictionaries provide a general overview of a subject and information such as names, dates and facts.

They also provide historical and political events that may have impacted a person's work and the society and culture in which they lived and worked.

To find encyclopedias or dictionaries on your topic, search QCAT using the keywords of your topic combined with "encyclopedia" or "dictionaries".

Cambridge Companions are a series of authoritative guides, written by leading experts, offering surveys to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics, and periods.
 
undefined
 
Oxford Handbooks offer authoritative and up-to-date surveys of original research in a particular subject area.