Skip to main content

English Language & Literature

Manuscripts

The Edith and Lorne Pierce Canadiana Collection is the centrepiece of the W.D. Jordan Library. The resources available at Queen's for Canadian historical and literary studies pre- and post-Confederation are outstanding. The collection of early North American travel and exploration literature is extensive. Supplementing this collection is the Library's complete holdings of microform and online reproductions produced by CIHM.
 
Queen's University Archives preserves records and manuscripts in two areas:  University Records and Private Manuscipts
 
A Guide to the Holdings of Queen's University Archives
REF CD3649.K5Q46 1986t
 
Detailed List of Canadian Literary Manuscripts Acquired to Dec. 1980
REF Z1375.Q43 1980at (WD Jordan Special Collections)
 
Other resources include:
 
Index of English Literary Manuscripts
REF Z6611.L7I5
Location and other details on manuscript collections for major British authors for the period 450-1900 in four volumes. Also provides useful summaries of scholarship and notes about special problems associated with manuscript studies for each author covered.
 
Location Register of English Literary Manuscripts and Letters: Eighteenth and Nineteenth Centuries
REF Z6611.L7L629 1995t
 
Location Register of Twentieth-Century English Literary Manuscripts and Letters: A Union List of Papers of Modern English, Irish, Scottish and Welsh Authors in the British Isles
Z6611.L7L63 1988t (Stauffer Library books)
Identifies manuscripts (including proofs, sound recordings, and electronic documents) by British writers, which are available for public consultation at libraries throughout the British Isles. Coverage is for 20th-century authors, including those who died after December 31, 1899.
 
Literary Archives Guide
CA1 AK 88L31 (Government Documents)
Provides brief descriptions of major Canadian literary collections acquired by the Manuscript Division of National Archives before September 30, 1987.