Research Guides: ENSC 315: Global Food Security, Agriculture and Environment: Finding Geospatial Data

Queen's Maps Library

Queen's Map and Air Photo library contains a large collection of paper maps - topographic, geological, political, themed, etc. Find these maps in Omni- include "map" as a keyword.

GIS Training

Free courses from the ESRI Virtual Campus are available at Queen's, as well as courses in GIS via Lynda.com.

Open Access Maps and Geospatial Data

The Atlas of Canada
Search by place name, National Topographic System (NTS), postal code, street name or address, latitude and longitude, or map scale.
NRCan Reference Maps
Reference maps for Canada, including separate provincial maps. Themes include: provincial and country outlines, time zones, drainage basins, lakes and rivers, latitude and longitude, national parks, relief, place names. Some international maps are also provided.
NRCan Topographic Information
Includes topographic maps and vector data.
Ontario Well Records
Use this interactive map to find wells by location or well ID.
USGS Maps

Queen's Collections - Maps and Geospatial Data

Scholars GeoPortal
Scholars Geoportal provides an opportunity to preview and download geospatial data from off-campus. This tool built by the Ontario Council of University Libraries (OCUL) and Scholars Portal provides access to geospatial data from both open and licensed sources.
Air Photo Database
Our Air Photo Database allows users to search for the majority of air photos in our collections. The database is complemented by paper flight line index maps annotated with our photograph holdings.
Geospatial Data License (PDF)

Citing Geospatial Data

Queen's library guide for finding and citing maps and geospatial data.