Skip to main content

Environmental Studies

Core Databases

Publication coverage: 1980 - present

A comprehensive, international and interdisciplinary database for the fields of physical and human geography, including geology, ecology, geomechanics, mineralogy, oceanography, environmental issues and Third World studies.

International coverage of articles and books about environmental issues.

Multidisciplinary database covering all aspects of human impact on the environment.

Publication coverage: 1926 - present (updated weekly)
All areas of life science including agriculture, biochemistry, biotechnology, ecology, immunology, microbiology, molecular genetics, neuroscience, pharmacology, public health, toxicology, zoology.
BIOSIS journal abbreviations.

 

Publication coverage: 1884 - present (updated weekly)
Key index to engineering literature.

 

PubAg

PubAg is a public database produced by the National Agriculture Library (NAL) containing references to articles related to the agricultural sciences.

 Each record is classified using terms from the NAL Agricultural Thesaurus and MeSH (Medical Subject Headings). As of 2016, PubAg contained 42,000 full-text peer-reviewed journal articles by USDA staff and nearly 1.5 million citations.

 
Publication coverage: 1900 - present
Online version of Science Citation Index
Database indexes 8,500 leading scholarly research journals.

Google Scholar

Use the Google search engine to locate articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles published on the "open" web. 

GS is particularly useful if you already have the title of an article and want to look it up quickly.

Searching Google Scholar through a Queen's NetID Login enables the Get It @ Queen's service (which links citations in Google Scholar to the full text of articles contained in Queen's subscriptions as well as to the library catalogue). This video demonstrates the offsite access login process.

Related Databases

AccessScience

AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic online resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material that covers all major scientific disciplines. An award-winning gateway to scientific knowledge, it offers links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations, plus specially designed curriculum maps for teachers.  Full-text
 
 
Publication coverage: 1970-
Produced by the National Agricultural Library. Citations only.
 

 

Catalogue of air photos held by Queen's University Library Maps and Air Photos Collection

 

Publication coverage: Varies by journal start date.
Fulltext critical reviews of primary research literature in the biomedical, physical and social sciences.
 
 
 
Publication coverage: Varies with publication
Comprehensive indexing of articles published in and about Canada. Consists of four sections, Business, Current Events, Education, and Reference.

 

Publication coverage: 1965 - present
Current Research @ Queen's indexes and abstracts dissertations and theses defended at Queen's University. Full-text available for titles published after 1996. Microfiche copies of Queen's thesis are available in Stauffer library.
 
Publication coverage: 1886 - present
Indexes the international literature in the field of economics. Includes coverage of journals, books, book chapters, reviews, dissertations, conferences and working papers.

 

Publication coverage: Varies by journal title

 

Publication coverage: 1948 - present
Energy and energy-related scientific and technical information from the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).
Scholarly journal publishers such as Kluwer, Elsevier, Springer, Cambridge and Oxford University Presses and more.
 
 
The Queen's University Library's collection of GIS data consists of a variety of local, national and international coverages. Use this database to see what data are available. Staff are also available to assist you in locating data - please contact us at open.scholarship.services@queensu.ca.

 

 

Publication coverage: 1951-   (updated quarterly)
Focuses mainly on the four core social science disciplines - anthropology, economics, politics and sociology - but also covers a wide range of related subjects.

 

Publication coverage: 1915 - present
Index to publications on global public policy and social issues from the early twentieth century through to the present.

 

QSpace offers a resource for collecting, preserving and providing online access to digital content produced by the Queen's community.

 

Publication coverage: 1907 - present.
Print holdings: 1907 - 1999 (v. 1 - v. 131) in Stauffer Library storage.
Search Chemical Abstracts, Medline, the Registry File, and CAS React. 5 simultaneous users.

 

Publication coverage: 1952 - present
Comprehensive index to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.