This text provides an accurate and comprehensive dictionary of terms used in the agricultural and environmental sciences, it includes many biological, chemical, and health terms that are important for a full understanding of the subject fields. This reference contains definitions and designations of usage in the fields of agriculture, soil science, animal science, agricultural engineering and many more.
Thoroughly revised and updated to include the latest research in the field, A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation provides over 9,000 A to Z entries on scientific and social aspects of the environment - its key thinkers, treaties, movements, organizations, concepts, and theories.Covering subjects such as sustainable development, biodiversity, and environmental ethics, it is at the cutting edge of environmental and conservation studies.
This updated dictionary provides both the student and the general reader with a working knowledge of the scientific and technical terminology associated with environmental studies and appraisals of current environmental issues.
Call Number: GE10 .E534 2001 r Stauffer Library Reference
Publication Date: 2001
The Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Environmental Change covers changes affecting the Earth over geological, intermediate and short timescales, including pre-Quaternary, Quaternary, Holocene, historical and current environmental changes. Recent climatic change is a major focus but other topics covered in detail relate to natural and human-induced changes to the lithosphere, hydrosphere, cryosphere and biosphere. Concepts, theories and issues relating to environmental change are included, as are the diverse sources of evidence of environmental change, the local, regional and global effects of environmental change from the poles to the tropics, and the approaches and techniques used for reconstructing, dating, monitoring, modelling and predicting change.
Like most technical disciplines, environmental science and engineering is becoming increasingly specialized. As industry professionals focus on specific environmental subjects they become less familiar with environmental problems and solutions outside their area of expertise. This situation is compounded by the fact that many environmental science related terms are confusing. Prefixes such as bio-, enviro-, hydra-, and hydro- are used so frequently that it is often hard to tell the words apart. The Environmental Engineering Dictionary and Directory gives you a complete list of brand terms, brand names, and trademarks.
Soil and Environmental Science Dictionary is a glossary of terms used in soil and environmental science, including terms from related disciplines. This compilation includes all terms and definitions from the current Canadian Society of Soil Science (CSSS) glossary as well as from various other sources such as the Soil Science Society of America and the Soil and Water Conservation Society.