Protecting the global environment is a single-minded goal for all of us. Environmental engineers take this goal to task, meeting the needs of society with technical innovations. This book covers in depth the interrelated factors and principles that affect our environment and how we have dealt with them in the past, are dealing with them today, and how we will deal with them in the future.
Transport and transformation processes are key for determining how humans and other organisms are exposed to chemicals. These processes are largely controlled by the chemicals physical-chemical properties. This edition of the Handbook of Physical-Chemical Properties and Environmental Fate for Organic Chemicals is a comprehensive series in four volumes that serves as a reference source for environmentally relevant physical-chemical property data of numerous groups of chemical substances. The handbook contains physical-chemical property data from peer-reviewed journals and other valuable sources on over 1200 chemicals of environmental concern. The handbook contains data on the temperature dependence of selected physical-chemical properties, which allows scientists and engineers to perform better chemical assessments for climatic conditions outside the 20 25-degree range for which property values are generally reported.
This book presents an objective, comprehensive and integrated examination of the effects of mining on the environment, and the environmental laws that deal with mining. Though stressing activities in the United States of America, it covers all of North America. North American environmental standards are currently being exported around the world. Consequently, this handbook will be of prime interest in countries that are now coming to terms with mining environmentalism. It should benefit working engineers and environmentalists, manufacturers, legislators, regulators, financiers and journalists.