Skip to main content

European History

Why Use an Index?

 

Use an article index to find journal articles on your topic, as well as other materials related to history.    

Some will contain the full text of journals but if the full text is not readily available, click on Get It Link Icon.

If the "Get It" link does not find anything, don't assume that the Library does not hold the item.  A search in QCAT for the title of the journal (or book) might find it. 

If clicking on a full text link does not take you directly to the article, you will need to navigate a bit to get the article you want - depending on the resource provider

Key Journal Indexes

Time period is from 1450 to the present. Indexes over 1700 journals published worldwide, selected books and dissertations.

Other Useful Indexes

Bibliography of British and Irish History
Covers history of the British Isles, and of the British Empire and Commonwealth. Indexes books, articles in collective volumes, and about 700 journals.
 
Covers all aspects of European medieval studies from 450 to 1500.
 
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance
A bibliography of scholarship drawn from Medieval and Renaissance books, dissertations, and journal materials (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies
 
Electronic journal archive, includes such titles as: Cambridge Historical Journal, Journal of the History of Ideas.
 
Scholarly electronic journals, includes such titles as: Journal of Colonialism and Colonial History, Journal of Interdisciplinary History, Victorian Studies.

Evaluate Articles

Articles are important in your research as they contain the most-up-to-date research in a given field and often focus on a particular aspect of a topic.

But not all journal articles will be useful for your essay so you will need to evaluate before you use them. 

Consult our guide, Distinguishing Scholarly from Non Scholarly Periodicals, to discover the difference.

How to Search for A Journal using QCAT

Once you’re in QCAT: 

• Select the ‘journal title exact" option
  from the dropdown menu
• Type in the name of the journal
• Press "Search". 

TIP: Search the journal title and not the
        article title.

Both print journals and ejournals will appear in your search results if we have access to them. Check the extent of our print holdlings or the years covered online.