Skip to main content

Film & Media

Annuals

Film Canada Yearbook Canadian resource
PN1993.5.C2C23 (1986-2006; latest in REF)
This annual is "the indispensable directory of the Canadian film industry". Lists information about film production companies, distributors, video production, television channels, government agencies, unions, guilds, and associations, film courses, awards and festivals, speciality bookshops, institutes, .... Continues Canadian Film Digest Yearbook.
 
International Film Guide
PN1993.3.I544 (1969-22012  [some years missing]; latest in REF)
This annual is a "survey of international film news arranged by country. It provides listings of film production companies, distributors, organizations, and agencies associated with film". Also included is information about film festivals, film schools, new books and periodicals. Cover title, 1990- Variety International Film Guide.

Awards

Award Winning Films: A Viewer's Reference to 2700 Acclaimed Motion Pictures
REF PN1993.9.M68 1994
Each of the 2700 films listed in this book have been recognized with at least one major film award. The movies included are from the silent era through 1990. Each entry contains the following information: title, country and year, color/black and white, length, production credit, director(s), screenplay, cast, subject, features, sequels and remakes (if any), rating and awards.
 
The Film Festival Guide: for Filmmakers, Film Buffs, and Industry Professionals
REF PN1993.4.L36 1998
 
International Film Prizes: An Encyclopedia
REF PN1993.4.H28 1991
An list of international film awards from 42 countries. Absent are major international film festivals. Arrangement is by country with awards then listed. A brief history of the award is given with a chronology of winners.

Directories

BFI Film and Television Handbook
PN1993.3 .F418 (1994; 1996; 2001-2003)
A thorough coverage of the British film and television industries.
 
Reel West Digest Canadian resource
PN1998 .A1 R4t (1990-2010 Lorne Pierce)
A directory for film, video and audio-visual production in Western Canada.
 
Reel Women: an International Directory of Contemporary Feature Films about Women
REF PN1995.9 W6S63 2007

Quotations

Film Quotations: 11,000 Lines spoken on Screen
REF PN1994.9.N69 1994
Lists 11,000 quotations which are grouped in more than 900 alphabetically arranged subject categories. Under the heading, quotations are arranged chronologically from some silents to 1992. Arrangement does not facilitate a known quotation been found easily.